Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 09:13 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

I think if they all threw at once they would all be blown up lol
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 10:38 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Man, the demo is buggy. Hope the game is a bit better in that regard.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 10:55 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

I am not sure about this one. I am jonesing to finish DOW1 and RA3 as they are a lot of fun. And I have Winter Assault and Dark Crusade waiting in the wings too. I am salivating to start DOW2 when I finish DOW1. I mean just after the first mission in DOW2 I am like ZOMG this is awesome. But Empire seems kinda slow to get into it. With so many good games on my shelf I think this one will have to take a back seat.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 11:09 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

I played about two hours of Sins of a Solar Empire last night. Forget about Empire...I'm hooked on Sins.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 11:13 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Ya Sins is supposed to be fantastic. Stardock has their sh1t together. Another game I need to put on my list for sure.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 04:33 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

I modded to get 2000 men. Another guy tried 9000 men in one unit but it was too laggy.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 04:42 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Meh, not impressed with this demo. Just... not interesting. Kind of slow and lifeless, in fact. The crackling sound didn't help matters either.

While not an issue, doesn't look like they bothered trying making their engine try to use more than one CPU core.

Looks like Fear 2, DoW2, and Entrenchment will be moving ahead in my gaming queue.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2009, 09:26 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,610
Default

no matter what I do I can not get the damn thing to launch, really hope this is fixed for the game...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 10:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 56
Default

There are a few major complaints right now on the official forums:
1. Load times
2. Not using more than one core.

The load times are so long because they compressed a bunch of stuff for the demo; I guess to save bandwidth or something, not sure. As for the cores, I am hoping the retail version utilizes more than one core, and if it doesn't, there best be an update!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 11:00 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Ya load times are crazy in the demo. Even starting the game takes WAY too long. I mean hit launch and go make a coffee. Grind your beans, boil your water, etc...

I haven't played a TW game before, just watched my buddy play Shogun TW before my head hit the desk (most boring game to watch). The combat style in this seems slow paced, which is alright. Kind of like a relaxing game of chess. I'll probably pick it up when it gets cheaper. I have many other games to play still.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Empire: Total War muse108dc Gaming 41 June 24, 2009 03:17 PM
Total computer lock up, seemingly random Menello Troubleshooting 11 January 28, 2009 07:27 PM
Only few weeks before Empire: TW 486 Gaming 4 January 9, 2009 06:25 PM
Medieval 2: Total War fans? 486 Gaming 10 December 12, 2008 02:27 PM
problems with Star wars empire at war donimo Gaming 0 November 8, 2007 11:36 AM