Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2009, 03:56 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default HELP! GTA 4 problem on steam

Hi guys.
I just recently bought gta 4 on steam, and I got it all updated and stuff
and then I tried to launch it, and it goes to the social club place after i sign in then when i click play, my cursor shows that something is loading, then a window pops up saying GTA 4 FATAL ERROR: WINDOWS XP: SERVICE PACK 3 OR 2 MUST BE INSTALLED. I dont even have xp! I have vista! oh man, what a dissappointment!
Please help...
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2009, 10:24 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Huh never had that problem. You best bet is in the steam forums.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2009, 10:41 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Double check that Steam is not running in compatibility mode. I had a similar issue with my Steam copy of UT3 crashing while loading till I realised somehow I accidentally had Steam running under compatablity mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 11:04 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

lol yeah, apparently my steam was runnin in xp comatibility mode and was recognizing my computer as xp, Oh well. I fixed it, and gta 4 multi is soooo fun! anybody up for a game?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know how long Steam is down for? biff Gaming 5 December 25, 2010 11:36 AM
L4D/steam install prob cmac79 Gaming 10 January 21, 2009 02:10 PM
Steam trouble. Zippoh Gaming 6 December 31, 2008 08:04 PM
How to change password in steam??? shayan288 Gaming 3 December 28, 2008 12:03 AM
Steam survey Prof. Dr. Silver Press Releases & Tech News 5 November 21, 2007 02:38 PM