Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 05:11 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Saint's Row 2

Hey guys,
I am just wondering...
For those of you who have bought Saint's Row 2 yet for the PC,
How is it?
Is it worth 40 bucks.
By the looks of the two reviews i saw on Gamespot,
It looks like its just another crappy porting job...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 05:42 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

I want to know as well, I am interested in it because it looks like GTA IV but with more to do..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 05:43 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

FYI it supposedly requires Steam.. so don't expect to *ahem* get it that quick.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 06:02 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Oh, **** that then, they are not getting my money.
Bastards. -_-

*Edit
If Saint's Row 2 does not require steam and is available in a physical store I would actually buy it if it was any good.
I would have bought L4D in a physical store if it did not require steam as well(and could do coop over an offline LAN).
Also, if I could find a non-collector's edition of CoD5 WaW in a store I would buy it(so long as it also supported offline coop LAN, I am still not sure if it does or not).

Last edited by MacJunky; January 7, 2009 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 08:22 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Oh, **** that then, they are not getting my money.
Bastards. -_-

*Edit
If Saint's Row 2 does not require steam and is available in a physical store I would actually buy it if it was any good.
I would have bought L4D in a physical store if it did not require steam as well(and could do coop over an offline LAN).
Also, if I could find a non-collector's edition of CoD5 WaW in a store I would buy it(so long as it also supported offline coop LAN, I am still not sure if it does or not).
We play COD5 co-op on our lan here .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2009, 09:29 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Does it require the internet at all? Any accounts or other BS like that?

I must admit that I am really missing the spawn capability of starcraft, that made it so easy to do some quick multi without having multiple full copies for people that will only play it a few times over a LAN.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 08:20 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

IGN reviewed it, said it was a good game but a poor console port. Major framerate issues. And crashing too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 08:23 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
IGN reviewed it, said it was a good game but a poor console port. Major framerate issues. And crashing too.
Doesn't crash on me.

But yes framerates suck ass.. I average like 28-30fp

Because its a console port some buttons are laid out funny.

But the games a blast.

Oh but it has MANY MANY holes in the game :S



Last edited by enaberif; January 8, 2009 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:26 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

reminds me of scarface, great game but a LOT of issues
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:57 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

Any AA at all? your screens look pretty devoid of texture smoothing there enaberif. but maybe that's just the screens being downsized. Thats really some terrible object clipping with that old car 1/2 in the ground like that. ick. I'm considering grabbing this but want to know how the multiplayer is. Anyone have a comment on the multi?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes