Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 4, 2009, 07:17 PM
Allstar
F@H

Default annoying gta 4 trouble!!!

Hi all,
about a month ago when gta 4 came out, I heard about the dissapointing cap
rockstar games had put on the game and dicided not to buy it, but to torrent it.
I had succesfully torrented and went through many non working cracks and bypasses untill i came across one that was an activation bypass, and it finally worked. I started playing the game pretty regularly from then on and got pretty into the game (part where you try to kill dimitri) and then i started to play other games.

Now, after about 2 weeks, I tried to open gta 4 and then when i click "play" in the social club application it says,
"Application failed to launch" "The application you are attempting to launch failed to start. this could be the result of it being blocked by Windows Parental Controls/Family Safety. please make sure you have access to the application before trying to launch it, or contact support at http://www.rockstargames.com/support".

And thats it. Any suggestions to this frusterating problem. Any will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much.
Shayan288.
Old January 4, 2009, 07:30 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

I think you'll need to buy the game if you want help here as discussion of cracks etc. is strictly against the rules(In fact, you might want to edit or delete your post.) That being said, there's actually no install limit on GTA 4 according to the steam page. It has SecuROM, but no install limit. It's likely that the problem is caused by the fact that you don't have a legitimate copy.
Old January 4, 2009, 07:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I think he's talking about the graphics cap, as in you can't set higher settings once you reach the amount of vram you have.
Old January 4, 2009, 07:38 PM
Allstar
F@H