Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 08:27 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default Question about European PC games

I posted this on the NCIX forums, and I figured I might as well post it on here as well.

Well, my mom decided to abuse ebay this year and she bought a bunch of PC games for my brother, but they were all from a seller in England. I have 2 questions:
1) Is it even possible to play them because of their region?
2) If it is possible to play, what is causing my screen to go crazy and display a constant line of fuzziness all over the screen, causing my computer to freeze and only allowing a hard reset?
(I have changed my second DVD drive to the UK as it's region and that didn't change anything)

(My rig is in the sig, 7600GT is a piece of crap.)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2008, 04:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14
Default

Computer games should not be region coded.. but i don't know an answer for you second question :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2008, 05:11 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Where you buy it will not affect your computer. There are a very small few games that have patches for different countries but they are mostly for languages and stuff like in Germany you can't have any game with a nazi flag in it. So to answer your first question Yes.

2) There could be a whole bunch of reasons. Your computer could be over heating. Bad driver install, bad overclock, need to patch the game, etc.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: NDS lite package, PS3 games+accessories, PC games+accessories... 56k BEWARE snaggletooth Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 25, 2009 09:21 PM
FPS GAMES! shayan288 Gaming 11 November 17, 2008 10:04 AM
used games WolfBane Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 9, 2008 12:38 PM
WTB: PS3 Games Primu$ Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 28, 2008 04:47 PM
PSP games bobletman Gaming 4 March 9, 2008 04:22 AM