Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 10:39 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default Fallout 3 AA and AF Sampling Query

Hey guys,
Quick one...when I play FO3 their doesn't appear to much of a difference in Graphics Quality when going from Max AA and Max AF (8x n 15x) ?..FPS with VSynch on stays at 60 FPS in both cases and with VSynch off the Frames in both cases seem to be about the same, anywhere from 60 - 110. When I look at objects, such as Stop signs, mail boxes, the rocks on the street, walls or broken windows they also appear the same in either case?...Am I missing something here...just curious if their is some setting other than setting to "Ultra" and 8x 15x when Launching the game that I'm missing. I know in order to dissable VSynch I have to "Force Off" in the nVidia Control Panel, any comments would be much appreciated.
Thanks

Maybe its just a "Bob Zone" thing..
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; December 24, 2008 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 06:10 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

The difference between 8xAF and 15xAF is miniscule at best. The only areas where I have found somewhat of a difference is in the patterns of cracks sometimes found on the broken road sections which litter F3.

As for the difference in AA modes, if you are playing on a sufficiently large screen you won't see much of a difference either.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 07:47 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

DL and install the high res texture pack mod. I did and it makes a big difference.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 09:34 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
The difference between 8xAF and 15xAF is miniscule at best. The only areas where I have found somewhat of a difference is in the patterns of cracks sometimes found on the broken road sections which litter F3.

As for the difference in AA modes, if you are playing on a sufficiently large screen you won't see much of a difference either
Yep thanks Sky...wasn't sure if it was simply my eyes going buggy or my settings weren't working correctly....

Quote:
DL and install the high res texture pack mod. I did and it makes a big difference.
Do you have a link to this mod Squeetard...thanks
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 10:07 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

Fallout 3 Nexus - Fallout 3 mods and community

there are a bazillion mods out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 10:12 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

Here is the terrain pack:
Terrain pack at Fallout 3 Nexus - Fallout 3 mods and community
get the 2048x2048(max) one. I run it fine on my 260.

Use the browse feature and sort by number of downloads, you'll find the best mods in each categoy that way.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 10:19 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
get the 2048x2048(max) one. I run it fine on my 260.
That is fine on a native res 1920 x 1200..?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 11:45 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

yes, i run that res and even with all the eye candy cranked i'm locked at 60fps. This game is not very taxing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 11:55 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
This game is not very taxing.
No you got that right, I never see GPU Temps over n above 55c, unlike other titles whereby 70c can be the norm!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Burntest Query rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 22 December 8, 2008 11:06 PM
QX9650 Query.. rjbarker CPU's and Motherboards 11 December 6, 2008 06:29 AM
TJ09 Fan Arrangement Query rjbarker Air Cooling 3 November 12, 2008 06:24 PM
Is Fallout 3 is a FPS or a RPG ? mazabe Gaming 11 October 14, 2008 10:26 PM
Digit-Life on Foxconn GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB and the analysis of coverage sampling AA Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 24, 2006 12:27 PM