Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 09:44 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default Mirror's edge to use GPU physx

No wonder the game was delayed for pc.
DICE Uses NVIDIA PhysX in Mirror's Edge - HotHardware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:11 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,939

My System Specs

Default

What for. There is hardly anything to do with physics in this game and all of it can be done by the CPU. I hope it is software based instead of hardware because physx is so poorly optimized for non physx computers. HL2 EP2 will probably still have better physics.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:14 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

WOW- So I suppose the PC version will kick butt with the right hardware- probably will need quite a system though for the full nine yards.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 12:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

The PC version is coming in January 2009 - As to the PhysX, it will be used to add realism to the game - You have weather/wind effects, moving cloth, flags, but to be honest it won't be absolutely needed - but in any case i'm ready for it. It uses the Unreal 3 engine - and the one disappointment is that the game is ridiculously SHORT - 10 hours gameplay at most, and much less if you're good. The only thing that puzzles me is WHY the devs decided on using flash animations for cut scenes, instead of using the game's engine - it really doesn't look good when you are playing the game with its U3 engine and all of a sudden switch to cartoon mode - doesn't look good.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes