Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 12:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
I need another video card ..800x600 grrr
Hey man I told you it was going to be a port and the worst one in the history of ports, I can barely even pull 30 fps you're going to need a quad core if you want to get some frame rates out of this game.
PCGH - Review/Benchmark: GTA 4 (PC): CPU benchmark review with 13 processors
__________________
____________________________________________
ASrock P45xe/q8200@2.8ghz/HD 4850+hd4830 crossfire/2xWD3200AAKS+0/4gb gskill 800/Samsung 245bw/Ocz Modxstream 600w

Last edited by gs01; December 5, 2008 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:27 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

Interesting article gs. I'm not to worried about processor speed because in a pinch I can up my E8400 to over 4ghz, also the new catalyst drivers will hit us on the 10th so I'm hoping there will be some sort of fix/optimization for gta4. I know some were arguing over whether this is a port or not and I'm not sure of the exact criteria but if it looks like a duck..walks like a duck...it's a duck. I'm just wondering why they couldn't streamline this game ffs! they had 8 extra months to get it ready for PC yet it struggles to perform like the console ver. Gawd the crappy fps they got over at PCGH with mid resolution, no FSAA/AF with a 280GTX is abysmal!!! Games like Crysis Warhead and Farcry2 make GTA4 look like a 2yr old game and yet the fps are far worse with GTA. Wheres the patch!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:37 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Once again. A quad core at 3 ghz smokes a dual core at 4ghz. This has been the case with Far Cry 2, Fallout 3 and now GTA 4. And yet 2 months ago when I was recommending the quad cores over the 45nm duals I was getting jumped all over by most of you. Wake up and smell the framerates.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 01:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 41
Default

There's an early release of 8.12 out it's rc3 so almost final, I haven't noticed much difference in them vs 8.11. If it's true they spent all that money on copy protection when it was cracked the second day it was released, doesn't matter how strong the protection is it will always be broken it just annoys paying customers.
[MediaFire] - ATI Catalyst 8.12 beta (8.561 RC3) XP/VISTA 32/64-bit - Guru3D.com Forums
__________________
____________________________________________
ASrock P45xe/q8200@2.8ghz/HD 4850+hd4830 crossfire/2xWD3200AAKS+0/4gb gskill 800/Samsung 245bw/Ocz Modxstream 600w
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2008, 02:50 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

Squeetard it wasn't me lol. I knew getting a dual would inhibit my gaming somewhat but I didn't see many titles taking advantage of multi cores so I didn't worry about it at the time. 2 months on and I can safely say I should have gotten a Quad, for the folding and gaming benefits. I paid about $40 less for this dual core and really it's doing just fine all things considered.

gs01: ahh thats cool but I try to stay clear of beta drivers and new ones I ussually wait a week or so for problems to flesh themselves out before I install new ones. About the protections I totally agree with you about. It's a pain and many paying gamers have been critical of for many years. But if I were a owner/shareholder I'd want my biz to do all it could to protect my intellectual property (waste of money or not). Ohh btw gs01 hows the 4850 handling things at your end? And I'm wondering how the ATI cards handle GTA in crossfire?
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 11:32 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

nVidia has released beta 180.84's for GTAIV. Get them here:
Grand Theft Auto IV by Rockstar Games

Upped me a couple FPS's but I also noticed it's using a lot more of my system ram now and gameplay is definitely smoother.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 12:29 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

I'm just on my way out the door now, going to FS to grab a copy. Any interested parties want to join encorps HWC vent server later on and try some GTA multi?
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 05:08 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Hahahah now all you dual-core users who said "no" to quads can eat the dust.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 05:18 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

pfft! price per frame I'm not eating anyones dust in GTA4. If ppl think paying an extra $50-$100 for 2-4 frames a second is worthwhile then fly at it.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2008, 05:48 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

The numbers are right there. You can't exaggerate man.

e8400@4gz 24fps
q6600@3ghz 31fps
that's a 30% gain on a 33% lower clock

q6600 $199 q6600 - Price Comparison - Canada's Cheapest Prices
e8400 $189 e8400 - Price Comparison - Canada's Cheapest Prices

That's $10.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes