Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

View Poll Results: Turn Based or Real Time: What's Your Preference?
Turn Based Strategy 5 23.81%
Real Time Strategy 16 76.19%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 28, 2008, 12:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default Turn Based vs. Real Time Strategy Games

I would like to open a friendly discussion on the merits of both types of games. I grew up playing turn based strategy games even before there were personal computers (there was such a time called the "dark ages").

I started playing chess when I was about four years old with my teen-aged siblings. I liked it because to win, I had to be able to anticipate as many of my opponent's moves as far in advance as possible. I knew however, the rules by which we both had to play and therefore it made it fun and challenging at the same time.

In the early "80's" I used to love playing the "Axis & Allies" board game with a group of paint balling buddies (great three day, non-stop weekend parties).

When personal computers first came out, there weren't a lot of games that you could play against other people. The internet wasn't even really an entity then.

One of my favorite games (28 to 56k modem days) to play by email was the "Panzer General" series. At the same time though, we were playing Doom via dial-up peer to peer modem and having a blast. Loved XCOM (UFO) series of squad based tactical games.

Maybe I prefer turn based as opposed to real time because I tend not to make hasty decisions; just good tactical and strategic decisions. Maybe I don't particularly like real time games because I'm no damn good at them.

I do however love strategic thinking. Maybe computer strategy games have just finally passed me by.

What are everyone else's thoughts on this subject?

It's probably poor taste, but I voted on my own poll.

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!