Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 08:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

I am playing Fallout 3 right now, as we speak, and all I have to say is ------ WOW.

I'm surprised Bethesda has done this well. Wow.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,313

My System Specs

Default

How are you guys finding visual performance? I've been a fan of Fallout since the original - And after 10 years it is about bloody time they released a new one, but do you need some high end hardware to run it? Or is it not that graphically intense?
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 09:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

It's optimized for multi-core systems so it takes advantage of them - the more you have the better; I am running a decent system but it runs REALLY smooth. Amazingly smooth; I'm surprised actually because I've played other games lately that slowed me down a lot more. So far so good; but I can try and disable a video card from SLI and run it on a single 8800 to see.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:02 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

Good video review here.

IGN Video: Fallout 3 PC Games Review - Video Review

I think I am going to skip FC2. Fallout 3 is shaping up to be the game of 2008.

Edit:

yes encorp I am interested to see single 8800 performance. thx :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:04 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 4,013
Default

Far cry 2 maxes out all 4 of my cores too. I remember getting shit on a scant few months ago by the e8400 owners that quad core was overkill and useless.

Who is laughing now?

Me and encorp, that's who.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:05 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 4,013
Default

I wanted to finish fc2 before this but I don't think I can wait.

~wanders off to future Shop~
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:06 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,372

My System Specs

Default

Cancelled my Amazon pre-order. Like I'm going to wait until Nov 6th - 16th for it to ship. I don't think so senor.

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:08 AM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,313

My System Specs

Default

So while it takes advantage of multi-cores, is there any sort of FPS monitor anyone is able to run. Just curious to see average frames and what kind of hardware you folks have :)

Looking forward to playing it though - FarCry2 I forced myself to spend some time on but if fallout 3 is half the game fallout 2 was. It will be awesome
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 10:39 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,607
Default

The newest version of FRAPS can be used with Fallout 3.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 11:53 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,372

My System Specs

Default

Went to Walmart and bought their last copy at lunch time. Now I must feign near death sickness so that I can go home early before Thursday. Just joking, lol.



But I may have to buy a laptop tonight. Would a laptop with a T5800 cpu, an Nvidia 512mb 9500GS, 4 GB of ram, and Vista 64 cut it? I just don't really know how the laptop cpu stacks up against desktop.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes