Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 07:57 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Il Duce View Post
MP is still cloak and 1-hit kill.
Lame Doubt I'll buy it then. MP is where its at for me.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 09:09 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DK2 View Post
I just walked into futureshop and they had about 10 of them just sitting there. *shrug*
did you try yelling and screaming and jumping up and down? that will get you service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Haha!!!!! That's sounds pretty accurate for the Futureshop AND Staples in this city. So pathetic.

Is anyone getting better performance compared to the first Crysis game? I hear it's supposed to be more optimized.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 09:25 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Not in Vista 64 bit, runs like crap. I'm running it up in XP 32 bit now.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 09:38 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killswitch View Post
Haha!!!!! That's sounds pretty accurate for the Futureshop AND Staples in this city. So pathetic.

Is anyone getting better performance compared to the first Crysis game? I hear it's supposed to be more optimized.

On Crysis "Very High on the Cheap" I got 29 FPS.
On Warhead Enthusiast settings without tweaking cvars I get 25 FPS.

Running XP on both

So actually performance is a tad worse than Crysis. They may have done optimizing but they boosted some effects too so likely it is just shy of evening out. Looks bloody awesome :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 10:02 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Keeps crashing for me. Get a VPU recover every half hour or so. Probably that securom crap. Never had a crash with cracked exe crysis or any of the other dozen games I played on this rig.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 11:33 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Keeps crashing for me. Get a VPU recover every half hour or so. Probably that securom crap. Never had a crash with cracked exe crysis or any of the other dozen games I played on this rig.
DRM doesn't cause that, unstable GPUs do. Downclock a little, or watch your temps. Somethings wrong there.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 07:33 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
DRM doesn't cause that
There are many many instances where copy protection has caused problems with games.

But you were right, I turned my clocks down 20/50 mhz and all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 08:22 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
There are many many instances where copy protection has caused problems with games.

But you were right, I turned my clocks down 20/50 mhz and all is well.
Yeah i know I've seen them. But never has it caused a GPU instability for me, nor should it. If it does it could damage your hardware.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 08:28 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Well I played it for a few hours last night and I have to admit I was having a very good time. So far the game has performed very well without any tweaking but I can tell I will have to do some now that the snow is falling. I didn't like the Alien levels or ending much in Crysis so it will be interesting to see how the rest of this one plays out. Hope it doesn't disappoint. The graphics have been improved slightly, better particles and light shafts, explosions are way better, sound has improved a little too. The environments are stunning and I think a lot more enemies are in this one too. One thing that's a bit weird is some enemy vehicles just drive back & forth on a very short path. Not sure what that's all about? All in all I'd say it's worth the $30 so if you're on the fence and like SP FPS games, just go get it. :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 10:36 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Did a shitload of tweaking this morning. Found a lot of FPS. Started with all gamer settings and went from there. 1920x1200, q6600@3690, 4850@780/1100

All gamer - 32 fps
Shadows mainstream - 37
Textures enth. 37
water enth - 37
shaders main - 52

Setting post processing and particles to enthusiast didn't do much until the action hit and then tanked my framerates. Here are the screenshots.

All gamer settings.



All gamer except. shadows-main, textures-enth, water-enth and shaders-main.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes