Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2008, 07:26 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default LCD TV as a Monitor?

I'm looking at this 32'' TV as a computer monitor, and wondering if those who use 30+ monitors can chime in, as to what they think of these TV's as monitors...

Future Shop: TV & Video: 30"-39" TVs: Insignia 32" Flat-Panel LCD HDTV** (NS-LCD32-09CA)

I chose this monitor because it looks equal to all the other pannels I've looked at, including the Aquos, and represents over 100 in savings.

Is Native Res really 1366 x 768 for these or is that just the 720p res?
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2008, 08:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

1366x768 is the res.

My brother has a 26" LG as his monitor with the same res. Looks fine but things are "big" due to the low res. I tried running 1080i on it and it runs but everything is impossible to read.

I'd personally just get a 24" LCD monitor with a 1920x1200 res.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2008, 08:23 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

I have my HTPC hooked up via the HDMI for sound and video to a Samsung LN40A530 40" LCD LN40A530 LCD TV - TV SAMSUNG

According to the research I did, 1920 x 1080p is not really noticeable over 1920 x 1080i for TV's under 55" unless you hook it up to a PC and read text. Then p or progressive is recommended.

Text, movies whatever are very clear

This TV is setup to accept the input signal from a PC on HDMI 2.

According to the manual it will do the following with HDMI/DVI input:

VESA
640 x 480
800 x 600
1024 x 768
1280 x 1024
1360 x 768
1600 x 1200

CEA 1920 x 1080P

"If the signal from the system equals the standard signal mode, the screen is adjusted automatically. If the signal from the system doesn’t equal the standard signal mode, adjust the mode by referring to your videocard user guide; otherwise there may be no video. For the display modes listed below, the screen image has been optimized during manufacturing."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2008, 11:26 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Get the Sharp Aquios or the Samsung 32inch asss long as they support 1080p Captain Vortex loves his Sharp ask him and i love my Samsung only thing missing in my is the 1080p i wonder if i can replace it with the new model since i got the 4 year warranty?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 08:30 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I've been looking around at the 1080p Aquos,
Those who have it.... how are your experiences? do you get ghosting when gaming?
Would I really, need to upgrade my video card to play most games stable at native?

If so, 4870 or 2x4850's or GTX260?
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 09:07 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

I love my Aquos 32" 1080P. I would never go back to a smaller monitor again. Text is easy to read, games are amazing to play because of the size. I am sure your 9800GTX should be sufficient for most games.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 04:39 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I dont know if it will... I'm a huge fan of Crysis and I dont know if it will play well at native 1080 using this card...

I'm almost 100% sure I'm going to get the Aquos 32'', but the Insignia 32'' would be good, at 300Cheaper (although 720p)
Would there be that big of a difference between 1080 and 720 when gaming?
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 04:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Gaming would be alright at 720p IMO though anything else would suck since the resolution is just too low for such a large screen. You'd loose quite a bit of productivity having such limited screen space.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 05:22 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

So, 1080 would prolly be the bet.... hmm, so much for trying to save an extra couple hundred dollars lol
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 06:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Sitting 2 feet from the screen you definitely need 1080P if you are using it as a main display. I was going to say besides Crysis about the 9800GTX.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes