Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 03:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
Default

bump.

Last edited by sircuster; January 25, 2009 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 2
Default

Wow no replies? I bought my 2053BW in May for $220+tx. Anyway both units have the exact same specs even the same native resolution, wonder if power consumption is the same?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 10:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 2
Default

anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 11:00 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

I'm running the same monitor, but the only setup I did was the Samsung standard of dropping the brightness down from 100% to about 40. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 06:20 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 981
Default

I pretty much stick with the controls on the monitor itself, that way no matter how many times I format or do whatever it will pretty much always be how I like it. I found this site (LCD monitor test images) to be invaluable and about the best one I've seen so far.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 07:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington
Posts: 13
Default

I'd like to hear some people on this. I just picked one up a few weeks ago, Friend of mine was telling be about "setting it up" which I will be doing on the 31st when I see him at a LAN. Any updates in the mean time would help.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 08:23 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

I have a 226BW.. I assume it's similar?

22" 1680x1050
2ms
3000:1 CR
60Hz

My settings:

Brightness: 100
Contrast: 80
Magic Color: Intelligent
Color Tone: Normal
Color Control: 50, 50 ,50
Gamma: Mode 1
Coarse: 1840
Fine: 0
Sharpness: 72
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 08:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington
Posts: 13
Default

Will try that tonight. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 09:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

I have the same monitor. I installed it with the Catalyst Drivers for Vista 64-Bit. You really don't need any special setup for normal use. However if your games need it, or in my case if you are doing photo editing yes. I have Pantone's Huey - its easy to use and not very expensive. It will check your ambient room light and calibrate your monitor with its supplied Sensor.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes