Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 02:48 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default TV as a Monitor?

Can i use a 32 inch normal tv as a monitor and would it look as good as my 19 inch widescreen?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 02:56 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

No it doesn't look good at all really. what connector will you be using? if it is composite and svideo then your max res is 1024x768
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 03:03 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

I have a dvi connector right now but if thats all you get in rezolution then i will pass thankyou :)
lol just wasn't sure:)
Next spring tho i see a screen like Capt Vortex has !!!! 32 aqous(sp):)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 03:23 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

by normal i thought you meant CRT. Does it have a DVI connector? If so it will look fine
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 03:33 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

nope no dvi connector just a crt tv lol but i meant dvi on my 19 inch widescreen :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 05:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

How are you going to send your computer signal to your CRT TV ? Do you have a scan converter box or your gfx card has its own output ?

TV (CRT) you DON'T want to use it as a monitor, whether you are using composite or S-Video ! Normal TV is interlaced, which means your image is displayed by alternating fields (odd / even lines). Your computer display is of much higher resolution, uses a different standard (VGA) and is progressive - you would need a scan converter (through an external box or one included with your graphic card if it comes with a breakout box) either way, your resolution will be limited and it will hurt your eyes because of the flicker and poor quality in comparaison :D not to mention the lost edges of your picture because of the overscan TV display (the hidden area you don't see)

Some professional quality scan converters do a fairly good job but are limited in resolution - I use a Yuan Tech, 7 year old pro series Scan Converter I paid $700 for back then, and it's broadcast quality, very clean signal, probably the cleanest you'll get, but nothing anywhere near as crisp as a computer signal.

Once you try it you'll probably wish you never did - stick to digital and leave CRT monitors for viewing TV :D
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 05:50 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Lol sounds like really good advice to me:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:19 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

I have to agree that using it as your main monitor just isn't worth it. But I do have my tv hooked up to my card and it is basically my third monitor that I use to watch movies, etc. The resolution I get for my standard 28" CRT TV is 720x480 @29Hz

Not good enough for a main display but good enough to watch movies.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

oh and I don't think you'll like the image quality of your stretched, computer signal via composite to your 32inch TV :D

Do yourself a favor and buy yourself a decent MONITOR.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 06:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
I have to agree that using it as your main monitor just isn't worth it. But I do have my tv hooked up to my card and it is basically my third monitor that I use to watch movies, etc. The resolution I get for my standard 28" CRT TV is 720x480 @29Hz

Not good enough for a main display but good enough to watch movies.
For viewing movies, it's not as bad - because of the motion and the nature of the signal - but viewing a standard desktop, the small fonts, etc - not good.
You might want to make sure you disable deinterlacing if you use it, when viewing interlaced movies to your TV. and I'm sure you meant 59.94Hz to be precise (29.97fps NTSC) or 50Hz (25fps PAL). :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes