Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 11:59 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

All right, to follow up I did a bit of running back and forth today to check out some of the claims made in this thread.

I ran over to my parents' place, picked up their Pioneer BDP-95FD, ran it back to my place, plugged in my trusty Hiper HDMI to DVI-D adaptor, plugged it into the 305T and loaded up Top Gun (GREAT 1080P Blu-Ray movie).

Guess what? No picture. All I get is the No Signal rotation through the primary colors which is the norm when there isn't a cable plugged into the monitor.

I used a standard Samsung DVD player with Lord of The Rings, the same HDMI to DVI connector and it worked on the 305T...but looked like crap.

I plugged the same getup into my Westinghouse LVM-42W2 through the DVI-D port and guess what? No poblemo!!! Looks beautiful and plays without a hitch.

You all can say what you want but after the time I spent looking into this today while worrying I did something wrong in the review, I now consider this matter closed. Now to return my parents' Blu-Ray player...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 12:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

You need to get a Dell in (3008WFP or 3007WFP-HC) for review, or the Gateway with the awesome [though some input-lag inducing] scaler.

Then you'll want to get rid of the 305T
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 01:02 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

The 305T has its uses. I find it great for gaming and Photoshop work since the color reporduction is spot-on.

Unfortunately, my Pioneer HDTV is down for the count and I am still waiting for a replacement since the Westinghouse needs to go back when my buddy gets back from Europe next week. Looks like I will be looking for a new HDTV pretty soon. Ugh.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 01:12 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Thanks for testing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
All right, to follow up I did a bit of running back and forth today to check out some of the claims made in this thread.

I ran over to my parents' place, picked up their Pioneer BDP-95FD, ran it back to my place, plugged in my trusty Hiper HDMI to DVI-D adaptor, plugged it into the 305T and loaded up Top Gun (GREAT 1080P Blu-Ray movie).

Guess what? No picture. All I get is the No Signal rotation through the primary colors which is the norm when there isn't a cable plugged into the monitor.

I used a standard Samsung DVD player with Lord of The Rings, the same HDMI to DVI connector and it worked on the 305T...but looked like crap.

I plugged the same getup into my Westinghouse LVM-42W2 through the DVI-D port and guess what? No poblemo!!! Looks beautiful and plays without a hitch.

You all can say what you want but after the time I spent looking into this today while worrying I did something wrong in the review, I now consider this matter closed. Now to return my parents' Blu-Ray player...
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 09:27 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
NIp-pick all you want, but for the life of me I couldn't get the monitor to raise up or down. I actaully have the stnad right in front of me and there is ZERO height adjustment.

Actually, I think I see the problem, the monitor Samsung sent me was the LS30HUBCB/XAA. However, the specifications they have up on their site and the specs they sent me were for the LS30HUXCB/XAA. Seems that there were a few things changed but I will contact my Samsung rep to see what they were. However, at the time of reviewing I had a conversation with Samsung and they confirmed the monitor I had did not have height adjustment.
No Issue, perhaps this revison, there is no adjustment, again I was just relaying what I had seen in other reviews

Also, I checked out my HTPC hooked up to my BenQ FP231W, and it seems your correct, thou for some reason I DO remember being able to play HD Movies on this moniter at somepoint. On this point I concede that I was incorrect :). Again thanks for testing and double checking out some of this info . Guess this means I'm still looking for a moniter for my client
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 11:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
True but like it has been said already: this monitor DOES NOT support HDCP which was the entire starting point of this conversation.
I agree, I just wanted you to fix the error in the review. Remove the "thus" and I'd be happy.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 11:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 10
Default

Who would ever hook up a standalone player too? Don't you own a TV? lol.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Q6600, ASUS P5B, 4GB Mushkin, EVGA 8800 GTS, 750W Silverstone Strider, 23" Apple Cinema Display
HTPC: Intel E6600, ASUS P5K, 2GB Mushkin, EVGA 9600 GT KO, LG HD DVD/Blu-Ray Combo, 600W Silverstone Strider, 46" Sharp 1080p LCD
Server: AMD X2 4400+, ASUS A8N32-SLI, 1.5GB Corsair PC-3200, 1x1TB, 1x750GB, 4x500GB, 1x320GB Seagate, 625W Enermax Modu82+, Coolermaster Stacker Evo
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 12:02 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Anyone that doesnt have a HDTV bigger than 30 inches would. Which is a lot of people, me included.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 03:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 10
Default

That sucks.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Q6600, ASUS P5B, 4GB Mushkin, EVGA 8800 GTS, 750W Silverstone Strider, 23" Apple Cinema Display
HTPC: Intel E6600, ASUS P5K, 2GB Mushkin, EVGA 9600 GT KO, LG HD DVD/Blu-Ray Combo, 600W Silverstone Strider, 46" Sharp 1080p LCD
Server: AMD X2 4400+, ASUS A8N32-SLI, 1.5GB Corsair PC-3200, 1x1TB, 1x750GB, 4x500GB, 1x320GB Seagate, 625W Enermax Modu82+, Coolermaster Stacker Evo
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 05:25 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Me too, I'm still sitting with a 36" CRT TV a Toshiba that weights a ton. (on a plus side I'd like to see someone try and steal it LOL) I want to get a least a 37" HDTV for my basement. As for my monitor it's a 20" Widescreen LG LCD.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes