Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 03:12 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default Anyone have info on getting replacement adapters?

Through circumstances regarding moving and family members I've got my hands on a 27 inch Acer monitor and with a new video card would love to use it, but no power adapter for it. Does anyone know a way of getting a power adapter aftermarket, or an Acer replacement adapter?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 03:24 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 723
Default

I just searched Amazon and there are some replacement adapters. Of course you do risk going with 3rd party instead of original Acer. I did it with my Canon 5200F scanner and so far so good.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 04:35 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

The only ones I can see (quick search, hockey game is on) are AC adapters and the monitor power port says DC in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 08:56 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 723
Default

OK, I'm not 100% sure but I'm think they are all AC to DC adapter. To be 100% sure, use the monitor model number and read the reviews.

Quote:
Input: AC100-240V (worldwide use)
Output: DC19V 3.16A,Power: 60W
Amazon.com: Acer AL1703 AL1714 LCD Monitor AC Adapter Power Supply Replacement: Computers & Accessories
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 11:33 AM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

I got some info off the back of the monitor and the power rating is 19V - 2.1A(2.1A)
That power supply you linked on Amazon puts out 3.16A. Most adapters I've looked at have a range and protection against sending too much through. Is it safe to assume that one does as well?

As well I'm not sure about the wattage I don't have any info on how much the monitor uses and don't know if the adapters I'm looking at have enough.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 02:42 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 723
Default

I'm just pointing out an example. Without the exact model of the monitor, you are just lost in the dark. Don't even think about using something that doesn't match the required power rating. What is the model of your LCD anyway? You could just call / email Acer and ask about a replacement adapter, just make sure they give you the adapter's model number so you can go back on Amazon to look for a 3rd party replacement.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 03:04 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

It's the H274HL bmid. I have been looking. That adapter does match the power requirements and is the first one I've seen that doesn't have specs about the ranging and controlled amperage. (ie. 1.5 or 1.9-3.5A) Other than that it would work fine. The only ones specifically for this model I've seen are through junk sellers on eBay hence looking at ones that match power requirements rather than specific models. Aftermarket replacements seem to be limited to smaller model monitors or netbooks.

I've contacted Acer but as expected from a company like them, no response.

Last edited by Brian; May 14, 2013 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 03:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Acer LCD Monitor H274 AC Adapters - acerparts.ca
New Genuine Acer Replacement Lcd Monitor Ac Adapter Power Cord 40 Watt
Genuine Acer FHD2303 H274 S201 S211 S212 ADP 40PH BBH LCD Monitor 40W AC Adapter | eBay

Should all be fine. Model number seems 'AP.04001.003'.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 03:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 410
Default

Correct me if I'm wrong but for monitors, as long as the adapter outputs equal or more than what you need, you're fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2013, 04:18 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
I got some info off the back of the monitor and the power rating is 19V - 2.1A(2.1A)
That power supply you linked on Amazon puts out 3.16A. Most adapters I've looked at have a range and protection against sending too much through. Is it safe to assume that one does as well?

As well I'm not sure about the wattage I don't have any info on how much the monitor uses and don't know if the adapters I'm looking at have enough.
That's actually the maximum current it can output, meaning any device that needs 19V while plugged in can pull up to 3.16A but will pull less if it doesn't need more
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Adapters Generic User #2 Power Supplies 6 December 4, 2012 09:23 PM
[WTB] Amarthfea's WTB! G19, 3x fan cable adapters Amarthfea Buy/Sell & Trade 31 November 28, 2011 05:02 AM
Powerline adapters & routers miggs78 Networking 6 December 10, 2010 10:05 AM
Questions about (Tri) SLI and Pin Adapters bkh2 Video Cards 7 June 9, 2010 08:45 PM
USB vs. PCI Wireless Adapters Shimakaze Networking 13 April 17, 2010 11:13 PM