Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 05:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 351
Default is my monitor done for it ?

__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
16GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb x 2 RAID 0
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G710 +
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:22 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,906

My System Specs

Default

Try it on another source, could be any number of things from a simple graphics glitch, faulty connection, bad cable, monitor on the way out or maybe even the card.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 351
Default

tried all that. switched the monitor to a whole different computer , different gpu , I tried multiple DVI cables and VGA cables. no dice
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
16GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb x 2 RAID 0
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G710 +
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360




Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 09:06 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Did you try a factory Reset? (if its available that is).
Otherwise I would say its probably faulty.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 09:49 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,906

My System Specs

Default

Real shame if it's that Dell in your sig, hope it's still under warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 11:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

looks if gpu over heated or bad ram on vcard
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 11:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Real shame if it's that Dell in your sig, hope it's still under warranty.

It's a Dell 3008WFP.... It is a real shame. I almost cried when I fired up the computer tonight. It's not gpu/ram related. I tested the monitor on another computer and it was the same thing. I'm looking at options right now basically..
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
16GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb x 2 RAID 0
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G710 +
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360




Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 02:15 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

toss moniter in bag of rice
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 02:49 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

How is rice going to help? He didn't water damage it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 09:46 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

had a monitor do that to me, was just a unseated or slightly dirty cable inside.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best LED Monitor for $150.00 Overclocking.ca Display Units 3 May 18, 2012 02:13 AM
Third monitor muse108dc Video Cards 3 April 21, 2012 04:15 PM
[WTB] Lcd monitor neojjjk Buy/Sell & Trade 5 November 27, 2011 12:25 AM
i want to tri monitor Cazushio Display Units 3 November 18, 2011 06:28 PM
New monitor, LED? Eldonko Display Units 6 April 27, 2010 04:32 PM