Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 07:20 AM
Skippman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 97

My System Specs

Default HDMI vs DisplayPort

I know DisplayPort is capable of transmitting resolutions greater than 2560x1440. Is that the only major difference between them other than HDMI's ability to transmit audio?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 07:29 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Nope. Displayport can also daisy-chain multiple screens at the same time and pass network signals as well - although these features are rarely used thus far, they will start to be soon (think of a receiver with displayport and one rj-45 network jack that provides internet to all connected devices via displayport: your console, smart tv, etc)

Edit: Audio wise it can also handle downstream 8-channel audio or more and 2-channel upstream audio.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,849

My System Specs

Default

As per above. I don't know the details, but it is supposed to be much more capable than Hdmi.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:09 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,580

My System Specs

Default

The standard 1.3(whatever) HDMI cable and port can only do up to 1080p resolution. I've tried hooking up an HDMI cable from my GTX 680 to my 27" 2560 x 1440 monitor and the highest resolution it'll support is 1080p, whereas through display port I can run at the maximum support resolution of my monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:18 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
The standard 1.3(whatever) HDMI cable and port can only do up to 1080p resolution. I've tried hooking up an HDMI cable from my GTX 680 to my 27" 2560 x 1440 monitor and the highest resolution it'll support is 1080p, whereas through display port I can run at the maximum support resolution of my monitor.
I'm not certain but i believe this was improved with HDMI 1.4(b?) (which also allows for 3D 1080p resolution) - its still nowhere near what DP can do though.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,580

My System Specs

Default

You could very well be true, all I know for certain is hdmi's limit for resolution seems to be 1080p, which sucks for higher resolution monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:23 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You could very well be true, all I know for certain is hdmi's limit for resolution seems to be 1080p, which sucks for higher resolution monitors.
Twas made for TVs my friend, that's why DP is that much better.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 09:46 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,425

My System Specs

Default

I thought DVI and HDMI was the same with the only difference being audio. I'm currently running 1920X1200 off of a long (it's either 15' or 25' ) DVI --> HDMI cable.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 10:35 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,930

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
I'm not certain but i believe this was improved with HDMI 1.4(b?) (which also allows for 3D 1080p resolution) - its still nowhere near what DP can do though.
Maximum resolution is 40962160 @ 24Hz or 2560x1600 @ 75Hz IIRC. But I know my U2711 won't run HDMI higher than 1920x1080 @ 60Hz.

DisplayPort does have audio, but only 2 channel PCM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 11:56 AM
Skippman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 97

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Maximum resolution is 40962160 @ 24Hz or 2560x1600 @ 75Hz IIRC. But I know my U2711 won't run HDMI higher than 1920x1080 @ 60Hz.

DisplayPort does have audio, but only 2 channel PCM.

Well that further muddys the waters for me. I guess I'm just going to have to order a DisplayPort cable when I buy my U2713. Seems like Dell is playing games with the DisplayPort/HDMI standards.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5970 DisplayPort to HDMI - Carry sound? DocShay Video Cards 5 July 9, 2010 10:09 PM
[WTB] DisplayPort cable mchutch Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 4, 2010 08:00 PM
Is the HP LP2475w's DisplayPort 1.1? Z Overlord Display Units 0 January 16, 2010 12:47 PM
[WTB] HDMI/Displayport Add-on card? Crownregent Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 6, 2009 04:12 AM
DVI already on the way out? Meet DisplayPort 1.1 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 5, 2007 08:16 AM