Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 06:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default Help: Resizing display on TV

So right now I have a 32 inch HDTV upfront of my face. I'm wondering how I can re-size the display so I don't have to turn my head around to follow the mouse. I barely know anything about displays, I messed around with the windows resolution settings and my GPU settings, and I managed to shrink it down some.

The TV is for the meantime, I'm currently saving up for a Monitor.


So is there a way around my problem? Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 07:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the forums!

Just to be completely sure what you're asking, it sounds like you want the display to cover only part of the TV screen?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 07:48 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

FILL IN YOUR SYSTEM SPEC's but sounds if you want change rez for the text is too small
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 08:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Welcome to the forums!

Just to be completely sure what you're asking, it sounds like you want the display to cover only part of the TV screen?
Pretty much, I find that it's too big for browsing the web and all, but its perfect for gaming and video editing. Yet sadly, I do a lot of non-gaming work on my PC.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 08:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure if that option is available these days outside of the settings on your TV itself.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 09:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm not sure if that option is available these days outside of the settings on your TV itself.
I guess the TV will have to do for now, I'll be buying a 24'' Acer monitor in the next month or so.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 10:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515

My System Specs

Default

Nvidia control panel -> adjust desktop size and position -> size -> enable desktop resizing
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2012, 10:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default

So I managed to mess around with my resolution and screen resizing, and I got something that'll work fine. Minecraft there is running at 848x480 (screen resolution at 1337x768) I think and it looks fine. I guess I am just so used to using a 4:3 monitor all my life.



Guess ill just have to work with huge windows, haha
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2012, 10:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

If you want a square screen you can always set the monitor to an aspect ratio of 4:3 and then chose a square monitor resolution (1280X1024 on my older 19" square lcd monitors).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2012, 03:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fredericton NB, Canada
Posts: 28

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If you want a square screen you can always set the monitor to an aspect ratio of 4:3 and then chose a square monitor resolution (1280X1024 on my older 19" square lcd monitors).
I don't think 4:3 is worth it anymore, I'm happy with finally having a 16:9, and a better FOV when I'm playing FPS, and fitting more video layers onto the display while video editing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung Display is Now The World’s Largest Display Manufacturer Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 3, 2012 02:41 AM
Best display for me? Stevieboy7 Display Units 5 August 10, 2011 03:38 PM
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 08:44 PM
Best Image resizing tool for Vista X64? Patriote O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 November 8, 2007 07:47 PM
Great image resizing utility that's compatible with XP and Vista Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 24, 2007 08:28 PM