Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 05:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default Triple monitors display.

Hey everybody , I have a small question for you guys.
So I am currently building myself a pc and I want 3 monitors.
Resolution 1080P ,24"inchs ,1 OR 2ms reponse time I know that I will be able to run it virtually but physically do I need 3 HDMI port or 3 Dual link dv i ?
How I am supose to connect 3 monitors on 1 graphic card ?

Here are the specs of the PC
~~~

CPU- Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz 6-Core
CPU Cooler- Corsair H100 92.0 CFM Liquid
Motherboard- Asus Sabertooth X79 ATX LGA2011
Memory- Mushkin Essentials 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-1333
Hard Drive- Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Video Card- Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 2GB
Power Supply- Corsair 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Optical Drive- Lite-On IHBS112-04 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
Operating System- Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (64-bit)
~~~

Thank you very much :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 12:17 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 675

My System Specs

Default

Your card will have 2xDVI, 1xHDMI, 1xdisplayport. Use any 3 connections. If your monitors only have DVI, use the 2x DVI and get an active displayport adapter (converts displayport to DVI) for the third.

Just be aware that hdmi 1.4 won't handle [email protected] 3d, (It can do [email protected] 3d or [email protected] 3d)

Powercolor Active DisplayPort to Single Link DVI-D Adapter for Eyefinity - PowerColor - DP-SL DVI Adapter
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 02:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default

do you think the adapter will reduce the response time ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 02:58 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Get yourself ddr3-1600, it is pretty much the standard today. And when you say 2 ms, it is from Gray to Gray, not from the Gpu to the display, so no it will not reduce the response time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 04:10 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 675

My System Specs

Default

Like Feanor says, the monitor response time is the limiting factor. Not sure if you have monitors or are buying new ones, but quite a few new monitors have displayport inputs so you may not need an adapter. Also, yeah, if you are spending the cash on a 2011/3930 build, get some 1600+ ram and I'd definitely add an SSD for your boot drive. OCZ vertex4 128GB is only $120 and will be the most noticeable upgrade for day to day usage.

OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5IN SATA3 Indilinx 535MB/S Read 200MB/S Write Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD - OCZ Technology - VTX4-25SAT3-128G
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Triple LCD Display Monitor Stand dlactin2408 Buy/Sell & Trade 13 March 10, 2012 05:35 PM
Thinking about 27" or Triple Display - advice please! zlojack Display Units 17 December 24, 2011 02:11 PM
Build for 3 Monitors, XFX Triple Stand RM - Ottawa New Builds 22 November 13, 2011 09:23 AM
Triple Monitors on one video card CrazyScott Video Cards 5 March 27, 2009 05:16 AM
triple monitors kyle_L Display Units 1 December 26, 2008 11:04 PM