Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
View Poll Results: how many monitors are you using
1 21 28.00%
2 25 33.33%
3 21 28.00%
4+ 8 10.67%
Voters: 75. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 10:05 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I currently just use one large dell 30'' monitor. I have tried the sli surround thing with 3x 1080p 24'' monitors in the past but would rather keep my system simple. 1 big video card, 1 big monitor, no sli or xfire = Less headaches.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 10:42 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,147

My System Specs

Default

I said one, but its 1 monitor plus a tv in the next room for streaming etc
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 10:52 AM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

I have 4 monitors, all different in size.

I have my CinemaView 24" (my brother bought it for himself while in design school, consider it a poor man's Apple Cinema display, gave it to me when I graduated from my teacher's program)
I have my Samsung 21" LCD
I have my Samsung 23" LED the three above are used in eyefinity
I have my Samsung 20" LCD as a 4th monitor for gauges etc wall mounted so it hangs above my main 24.

Wish I could have all monitors the same size, or at least two of the three in eyefinity in the same model/size, but it works just fine so no complaints.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 11:03 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Two on my main workstation, a 27" 16:10 and a 19" 4:3 LCD's.

CRT's on all other machines ranging from 10" to 19" (various resolutions/colours)
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 11:18 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Pair of 22 inch LCD's, tried 3 monitor gaming and didn't like it, I use the main screen for gaming, and the other screen for forums and monitoring temps and such.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 05:21 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

3 x 24" Asus for eyefinity good sale at the time, and personal e-peen satisfaction
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 06:01 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

1 per machine=old school......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 09:36 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i use one 27" inch monitor and it pretty good enough.. i did use two crts in the past... its not useful as much as i thought... i am pretty comfortable with one large screen with high resolution...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 05:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

At my school's lab I use 2 old 17" monitors (3rd generation flat screens at good ol' 4:3 ratio). That setup is useful for having some reading material on the secondary monitor and my programming / document I'm writing on the primary.

At home I have one 20" 16:10 monitor and a tablet for viewing e-mails and other reference material. (It beats alt+tabbing out of games).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:23 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

I use 3 at my workstation, 1 with a kvm in my home "server room". And I keep a spare packed up for any visits to the colo in case their kvms are having issues, or any clients with screenless servers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sli with 3 monitors gingerbee Display Units 11 May 17, 2012 11:40 PM
What monitors to get? SKW Display Units 8 August 1, 2011 04:28 PM
2 monitors, what to do muse108dc Display Units 3 May 26, 2011 09:13 PM
3 monitors on linux importpsycho Video Cards 7 November 14, 2010 12:13 PM
2 Monitors ih8purple Display Units 3 January 23, 2008 12:09 AM