Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 04:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 499
Default ... I got a new TV

Just to let you know the ... in front of the title is because I went from a 27inch Tube Television to a 40 inch LCD Widescreen and it been 4 days and I am still in shock... But anyways onto the question my new treasure brings up. Technically I have 4 items hooked up to the TV and I still think there are 4 more I am not using... But back to the subject they are a Cable Box, DVD player, VCR and My Wii. What I don't think it good is how they are connected which is AV cables for the cable box Component for the DVD Coaxial for the VCR and S-video for the Wii. Now I have new connection options open to me namely HDMI. Now would it be worth my money to buy a Blu-ray player or to look for for a Harddrive DVD recorder with HDMI output. The Prices are similar but the Recorder is a little cheaper. Another thing is I need to get component Video cables for my Wii... Damn and I have to say though its a dead format 100 bucks for an HD DVD player seems like a wicked deal... if I could even still find one that is. Oh yeah the TV I have now is the Samsung LNT4042.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 04:58 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Congrats!!! That's awesome, and happy birthday! A Playstations 3 is a great choice for a Blu-ray player, media center, and gaming console.....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 04:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

nice tv :) how does the Wii play on it? have you tried any shooting games? As for the blue ray... i'm not sure about where you live, but in my town a ps3 is far cheeper than any stand alone player i've seen, and can play games too ;)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 04:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

lol damn, cptn, you beat me to it
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 499
Default

only slight issue is the butchering that would take place if I tried to bring another gaming system into my home..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I dont suppose you could put your computer or laptop on that samsung and tell me what its max resolution is could you? I just bought a sharp and when i hook on my laptop it drops the resolution to an ungodly 1024 x 768... might not seem so bad on paper, but in practice that resolution is definatly not doable on a 46" inch screen. I'm thinking about taking it back to get the samsung equivilent if it can do better resolutions.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Lol, i know exactly what you mean... but it really is justafiable to get the ps3 vs the standalone at this time. Just show her your thread, she'll se that your not making it up ;)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:21 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
I dont suppose you could put your computer or laptop on that samsung and tell me what its max resolution is could you? I just bought a sharp and when i hook on my laptop it drops the resolution to an ungodly 1024 x 768... might not seem so bad on paper, but in practice that resolution is definatly not doable on a 46" inch screen. I'm thinking about taking it back to get the samsung equivilent if it can do better resolutions.

Is that because of the TV or the Video Card in your laptop can't support the 1080p via to the tv
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
I dont suppose you could put your computer or laptop on that samsung and tell me what its max resolution is could you? I just bought a sharp and when i hook on my laptop it drops the resolution to an ungodly 1024 x 768... might not seem so bad on paper, but in practice that resolution is definatly not doable on a 46" inch screen. I'm thinking about taking it back to get the samsung equivilent if it can do better resolutions.
You might need to connect your PC using HDMI/DVI. VGA doesn't always support the correct resolutions. I use a DVI-to-HDMI cable on my HTPC which allows me to run 1920x1080 (1080p).

TwystedMonkey:
Cable Box (assuming it's HD cable) should use Component or HDMI.
DVD player should probably be component as well, though if its not an upconverting one then composite/s-video would be fine for it.
VCR doesn't matter really, not going to look good regardless. Do you honestly still need a VCR?
Wii use component for the best picture quality.

I wouldn't buy a DVD recorder, get the Blu-Ray player and enjoy that HD. If you need to record TV, get a PVR from your cable company.

Oh and don't buy cables from large retail stores, you just get totally ripped off, especially on HDMI cables. Get your cables from TigerDirect or someplace else.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 05:34 PM
Cardboard box with DSL's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 170
Default

+1 for a PS3 (take the beating...Its worth it)
I love my PS3 works amazingly well for movies (DVD and Bluray), great gaming console and works well for a media device. Music quality is great, picture slideshows are really cool, and best of since firmware 2.0 the PS3 now supports most video file types (namely avi and xvid files). The only video format that I have had trouble with so far is .ogm, its a fairly uncommon file type and really annoying since barely anything supports it.
__________________


Last edited by Cardboard box with DSL; March 30, 2008 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes