Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 08:29 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,113

My System Specs

Default

I myself don't know much about the displays. But this is probably the best bunch of info here.

Yamakasi Catleap Monitor Club
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 08:29 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Ive been doing a bit of research in to these the past couple days, since the sale on the dell 2412m went up.

I'm really leaning towards one of these 27" ones, but with the broken english, and 400 auctions for what appears to be the same monitor(s) I'm having a tough time settling on which one to actually purchase.

Any advice? All I really care about is no tempered glass. I wouldnt mind the HDMI input, but it seems they all have additional cost. I really just want the cheapest price without hassles tho.
They all have roughly the same pannel. You just get a little bit of the extras.
I'd look at the CrossOver, because of the stand.
Catleap Q270 is very good too. i have one myself.
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 10:15 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlef View Post
They all have roughly the same pannel. You just get a little bit of the extras.
I'd look at the CrossOver, because of the stand.
Catleap Q270 is very good too. i have one myself.
So I have two open in my browser after researching these for the past day and a half...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/QH270-Lite-A...item4aba71c5d1

or

★CROSSOVER★ 27Q LED High-Resolutio​n​ 2560x1440 QHD DVI-D Dual S-IPS 27" Monitor | eBay

Is the stand worth the extra ~70 bucks? Do these prices seem about right for today? Thanks for the help
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 10:16 AM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

i have debated getting one of these panels,but i am now going to wait for this
Overlord Tempest X270SE - Pixel Perfect

shipped to canada will put it over 400 i am guessing,but the big plus to these panels is that they are
lg A+ panels,and any warranty issues will be out of the usa
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 11:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

If you don't care about a metal casing, go with the cheaper one. You can always buy a different mount from a vendor of your choice.

Overlord panels are NOT "A+", they are only "A".
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 11:22 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 870

My System Specs

Default

I will not take the risk finally with thoses monitor.
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 04:20 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Overlord panels are NOT "A+", they are only "A".
i stand corrected,and in saying that still better imo than the crapshoot that is ebay!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 05:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

That is true, though many of the sellers have reportedly very good return policies. Some of them will pay for return shipping, and some will cut you some sort of refund if it's only a minor hassle.

I'm anxious to see how much Overlord will charge for the OC models and what the shipping cost to Canada is finalized at. They are prepping an initial batch using "2B" boards found "in a broom closet" LOL.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 07:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

Call me crazy...but I was thinking...

Since I have a U2711, how would 2 of these pair up with it for some surround gaming? Are any of them wall mountable?
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2012, 10:51 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

Good question from JD there, I would also like some opinions on that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes