Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #191 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 05:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

Achieva Shimian is my other candidate from bigclothcraft, he/she says on page he will pay return shipping for DOA's, what do they consider DOA, never working or failing in 1st 5min, 1st hour, etc. If it failed in the 1st day I'd certainly call that DOA, or just say it never worked at all.
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #192 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 06:34 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjuggles View Post
Just tried another dual-link cable I have, same black screen. Also tried both dvi ports on my 680, same thing. All 3 of my 23" Dells work on both dvi ports.

The brand I purchased was the Achieva Shimian.
u using the power brick with a standard ac cable? or the "free adapter" is ur power brick semi warm, or warm at all? thats my first suspicion on all these monitors....
Reply With Quote
  #193 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 06:49 PM
mrjuggles's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 60

My System Specs

Default

That was something I noticed the very first day, after about an hour the power brick became quite warm to the touch.

I'm using an ac cable I had already, not the one it came with. The led still lights up on it.
Reply With Quote
  #194 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 06:58 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 451

My System Specs

Default

perhaps thats the issue?
mine is warm, but not close to hot like i have heard....i have mine off the floor with good air flow...

STILL like to see a manufactured date....

Last edited by maverick_brent; October 4, 2012 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #195 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 09:20 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 842

My System Specs

Default

my power brick isn't warm or hot. It is at the temperature of piece on my desk behind the screen
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|
Reply With Quote
  #196 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 04:28 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

My power adapter is just warm, which seems normal really. Discovered that the power adapter was not working for my Shimian, and not actually the monitor. Red-cap made me send him a video proving it, which is understandable, and he sent me a new power adapter- no questions asked. Red-cap is a good guy.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #197 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2012, 08:36 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

So is there no customs duty on these? Just provincial tax + fedex's $10+tax

I'm not going to risk trying to have it labeled "gift", but what do they write on it, just "lcd monitor"

Who did everyone ship with, can someone here in Canada list all the expense/fee's/taxes/etc that were on their bill they had to pay at their door to claim the beast

I'll be cutting it really tight money so I need to make sure I have enough cash at the door, I don't have checks or credit card
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; October 8, 2012 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #198 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2012, 11:04 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 842

My System Specs

Default

Ted: I have pay around 45$ of taxes and duty for a 250$ declared import
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|
Reply With Quote
  #199 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2012, 12:09 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 451

My System Specs

Default

I was the same as Alpine
Reply With Quote
  #200 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2012, 12:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
Ted: I have pay around 45$ of taxes and duty for a 250$ declared import
But I don't think it there was customs duty, that sound like just HST (or PST+GST) and then courier fee, I'm going to call customs to check for sure, the fedex girl didn't know
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes