Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 10:22 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default Monitor hiss?

So my one old monitor which is an LG Flatron L222WT started hissing(kinda like the sound a gas stove top makes when it's on but not lit) about a week ago. The hiss only happens when the monitor is powered on and stops once I hit the power button to turn it off. I haven't noticed any flickering or discoloration or anything to say that the monitor isn't functioning properly other than the hissing. Anyone know what may be causing the hissing sound? I was planing on getting a new monitor but not for another 3 months.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 08:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Over time the capacitors that supply power to the light degrade (thank china) and cause the AC to not be filtered properly so you may hear a 50-60 cycle hum.

I'm just guessing tho.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 08:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

dont be surprised if it dies
then just replace the caps on psu
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 05:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 105
Default

The flickering at startup is the key. The Capacitors need replacing. The top of the cans will be domed, so it's easy to tell which ones need replacing. When ordering new ones, you should replace them with ones of a slightly higher voltage. This way they will never need replacing again.

Digikey is good place to order them look for Panasonic ones. total cost will be about $5.00.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 05:34 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Snakes on the ground plane no doubt.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 07:51 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonzo View Post
The flickering at startup is the key. The Capacitors need replacing. The top of the cans will be domed, so it's easy to tell which ones need replacing. When ordering new ones, you should replace them with ones of a slightly higher voltage. This way they will never need replacing again.

Digikey is good place to order them look for Panasonic ones. total cost will be about $5.00.
The thing is that it's not flickering at all it's just hissing loudly. There are no problems I can tell other than the hissing. No smell of burn electronics no fade of the screen. I guess it's giving me advance notice it's time to get a matching set of monitors. This one is about 4 and a half years old and it was a display model at futureshop so I got it super cheap while my Philips monitor is only a year old. So I guess I should really be asking now what monitor should I get?

My requirements are it must have at least 3 inputs preferably VGA, DVI, HDMI(or DVI) must be 1080p and must be approx 24" I don't want smaller and my current desk can't hold much larger but I'm open to suggestions.

Here's a monitor I was looking at earlier. ASUS VE247H 23.6IN Widescreen LED LCD Monitor 1920X1080 2MS 10M1DC HDMI DVI-D VGA Speakers - ASUS - VE247H
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 08:49 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

light tube inverter coil leaking output voltage thats the sound your hearing . don't open an touch anything while on, for the output is 1~2 kilovolt'S
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 09:12 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

I have that Asus VE247H monitor at work, replaced my Samsung 245T when the caps blew. I'm really not happy with it. The color is horrible right out of the box, everything has a yellowish tinge.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2012, 11:39 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I have that Asus VE247H monitor at work, replaced my Samsung 245T when the caps blew. I'm really not happy with it. The color is horrible right out of the box, everything has a yellowish tinge.
Doesn't the monitor have adjustment settings? If it always has a yellow tinge what monitor do you recommend that meets my requirements?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I SLI with 3 monitor? jibz Video Cards 2 January 19, 2012 04:59 PM
new monitor mavriskia LinusTechTips Q&A 1 December 22, 2011 09:26 AM
New monitor plz krep Display Units 7 September 17, 2011 09:00 AM
Gallery NEW MONITOR! :D vagnaar Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 October 13, 2010 10:34 PM