Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 02:03 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default is 2 6970's enough for 3 asus 27" 1080p LCDs in Eyefinity

so on the 15th my super rig shows up with 3 27" LCD's and I want to know if I should just give away my other 2 6970's and just accept the 2 7970 tops CUII's I have held for me or is that just total over kill?

and no I will not give away my 2 7970's if they are not needed for now I will lend them to my buddy who bought me the 3 lcd's for my birthday till the new Nvidia cards come out and he buys them.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 02:06 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

It's possible, but for BF3 i dont think it'll be enough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 02:11 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Alright I might just use the 2 7970's and just give away one 6970 that way my wifes system can be tri fire and shes future proofed :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 02:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 103

My System Specs

Default

I think using two 6970's would do fine for 5760x1080 in eyefinity. This review has benchmarks that show 54 average fps in battlefield 3 at 5040x1050 so you would see a bit of an loss at 5760x1080. It would be definitely playable although two 7970's would be awesome to!

HARDOCP - Battlefield 3 - CrossFireX Eyefinity - AMD Radeon HD 7950 Video Card Review
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 02:57 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Use the 7970's , simple as that.

Why bother going with a lesser set of cards when you have better ones ready to go?

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 03:56 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Speaking from personal experience the 6970s will handle BF3 with everything cranked at 5670 x 1080, however if you already have the 7970s, you're better off using those as they have more vRAM and will allow you to get even higher frame rate.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 06:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

If you're planning on playing a game like BF3 MP a lot you also don't really need to have every setting cranked to the max.
Unless you just walk around looking at the scenery and don't actually play!

But yeah I'd probably use the 7970s if I had them too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 12:40 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Speaking from personal experience the 6970s will handle BF3 with everything cranked at 5670 x 1080, however if you already have the 7970s, you're better off using those as they have more vRAM and will allow you to get even higher frame rate.
I had a bad experience. With (2) 6970, ultra at that resolutions - my FPS dropped down to 20+ FPS. Barely manageable to even play. It was a bit better with High settings. Nonetheless, it was shit to play with.

Sell the 6970's and keep the 7970's. It'll be a much better experience.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:38 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Well since its my birthday week an myself and about 10 major distributors CEO's and Top Reps do a birthday item trade (I usually send them booze and fix their broken iphones as my gift that kinda stuff)
I started getting stuff at the start of the week.
Heres the short list
3930k (not to shabby)
above item are from a Unnamed intel higher up:)
Rampage IV Extreme
Above item from a buddy at Asus thanks so much
3 Check that 3 6970's Gigabyte with the triple fans...(I am starting to get to many of these)
Above 3 items from a old friend in Gigabyte she sent me 3 repaired RMA ones.
3 New Asus 27" VE278Q
Above 3 LCDs from Super*** cant say who dont want to get them in trouble but super happy.

So I am really really starting to think I do not need the 7970's and will just return them I know everyone here is saying stick with them but I have tons of 6970's and my wife doesnt want my huge amd tower (she has a mini itx gamer thats dead silent) so I might just be selling my big watercooled amd rig as well and just building this huge Intel one.

There is a point where you just feel greedy maybe I should just give the 2 7970 3GB CUII Tops away on the form :P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:59 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

I'm sure no one here would complain.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] i7 940, Asus P6T, 6gb, 6950 2gb, SSD, Antec 1200, PCP&C 750W, 3x24" Eyefinity, etc arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 3 June 19, 2011 09:49 AM
eyefinity 2x monitors in portrait(1080p) johnnyblazzwa Display Units 2 February 7, 2011 12:50 PM
It's finally time - Need 3x New LCDs for Eyefinity CMetaphor Display Units 35 December 4, 2009 08:58 AM