Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 09:29 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default Loking to replace my Dell 24"

Hey guys!

So I've had my Dell Ultrasharp 24" for about 4 years now and I'd like to replace it but I'm a bit confused. Back in 2008 when i bought it, it actually cost me 799,99$. Problem is, that it has no HDMI input and that's why i want to upgrade. I'm getting an HD GPU along with a Bluray drive. I saw a couple of 24" monitor with HDMI input and they retail around 200-250$. On Dell's website, the Dell UltraSharp U2410 which has HDMI input retails at around 599,99$. How comes the Dell monitors are so pricy?

I must admit that from what i saw, none of the other 24" i saw since 4 years, even with HDMI input, ever came close to the picture quality of my Dell 24". Would that be the reason why?

I'd like to get the same 24" but with HD but i sure can't afford 599,99$ ATM. So, question is, should i keep my Ultrasharp 24" connected with DVI since it's an amazing monitor even tho it is not HD or should i look at another 24" monitor that is HD?

Which 24" HD ones would be a good buy over my current monitor?

Thanks guys!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 09:57 AM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

DVI to HDMI adapter. They're the same thing except that hdmi carries audio. Keep your current ultrasharp.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 10:52 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
DVI to HDMI adapter. They're the same thing except that hdmi carries audio. Keep your current ultrasharp.
Agreed, is there a reason you need HDMI?
I find D-DVI better for me than hdmi on my u2711.

BTW Welcome Back James!!!
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 12:12 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
DVI to HDMI adapter. They're the same thing except that hdmi carries audio. Keep your current ultrasharp.
But can DVI cables display HD? I mean if i watch a bluray movie on my Ultrasharp will it be able to display HD? Sorry, I'm confused!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Agreed, is there a reason you need HDMI?
I find D-DVI better for me than hdmi on my u2711.

BTW Welcome Back James!!!
Thanks! Kevin right? :)

Well i don't particulary want HDMI input. I want a monitor that is HD so i can fully use my bluray drive! Can my current LCD do that?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 12:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

just wait on the next sale they be up for 400$ again
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 04:38 PM
TRTW's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Smith AB
Posts: 20
Default

My monitor will display 2560x1600 through it's dual link dvi input so for sure you can get 1080p through that. I am quite certain that even a standard dvi link will display 1080p as well because my blu-ray player is connected to my television with a standard dvi cable.

I would suggest getting your new video card and the bluray drive and give it a go with your current monitor. I am thinking you'll be very pleased and it will save you some cash ;)
__________________
Asus Crosshair IV Formula / AMD 965 @ 4.0ghz w/Corsair H70 / 8gb Corsair 1033MHz / 6950 x2 w/Accelero Extreme / Corsair HX1000w / Seagate Momentus XT 500gb / Samsung 305T Plus / Win7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 04:58 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,256

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRTW View Post
My monitor will display 2560x1600 through it's dual link dvi input so for sure you can get 1080p through that. I am quite certain that even a standard dvi link will display 1080p as well because my blu-ray player is connected to my television with a standard dvi cable.

I would suggest getting your new video card and the bluray drive and give it a go with your current monitor. I am thinking you'll be very pleased and it will save you some cash ;)
Agreed I run 2560x1440 on a D-DVI cable with out a issue.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 05:09 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

HD is a resolution of 1920x1080. All common connectors are able to output that resolution. What model is the monitor you have now?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 07:27 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NI3 View Post
HD is a resolution of 1920x1080. All common connectors are able to output that resolution. What model is the monitor you have now?
Oh i see! So HD is basically only a resolution. So i suppose since I'm running 1920x1200 it's basically already sor of HD right? So if i would be to play a Bluray movie into my new player and onto my current Dell 2407WFPHC i would see the quality of Bluray movies as long as i have an HD GPU right? Or do i have to set-up something into the driver's control panel?

Thanks guys!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 10:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Hey guys!

So I've had my Dell Ultrasharp 24" for about 4 years now and I'd like to replace it but I'm a bit confused. Back in 2008 when i bought it, it actually cost me 799,99$. Problem is, that it has no HDMI input and that's why i want to upgrade. I'm getting an HD GPU along with a Bluray drive. I saw a couple of 24" monitor with HDMI input and they retail around 200-250$. On Dell's website, the Dell UltraSharp U2410 which has HDMI input retails at around 599,99$. How comes the Dell monitors are so pricy?



Thanks guys!
Hi Patriote

I believe your Dell Monitor is an IPS monitor and that is why the UltraSharp U2410 is pricy. It has better components, produces 12 bit colour, as well as being a 16:10 picture and other features that you don't normally find on your standard monitor. Anyone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the type of monitor you presently have is a preferred monitor that professional Photographers and Graphic Artists, etc... like to use and thus the cost of it is greater due to parts and the superior materials used in the composition of the screen, which allows said monitor to achieve a greater colour reproduction professionals like to have. Normally good quality IPS monitors are over $1000, but LG has some for around $300+ and ASUS just came out with one that is approximately $500, that is the ASUS PA246Q. I picked one up this past week and it is crisp to say the least, not too mention a lot of features I hope to put to good use, using Painter 12 (just learning & haven't a clue as to what I am doing, lol).

I was told they are not the best monitors for gaming, but I don't really know why that is. It could be because their response times are typical slower than a non IPS monitor. I am not an expert though.

I hope this helps in providing some info, as to why the Ultrasharp 2410 is so pricy.

Best Regards,

Mr.Atomic
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DELL Supersale Round 1 July 18-19 "U2410" Monitor RM - Ottawa Display Units 7 July 19, 2011 03:33 PM
[FS] [IC] Dell Vostro V13 - 13.3" LED, 2gb, 320gb, x4500mhd, 0.65" thick, 3.5lbs coriolis Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 26, 2010 08:25 AM
Getting a Dell 22" The Guy Display Units 5 June 28, 2009 02:19 PM
Does anyone have a E228WFP Dell 22" JayDee Display Units 12 July 25, 2007 07:56 PM