Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2011, 03:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default Everything is choppy on HDTV @ 1920x1080 (2x 560ti SLI)

Problem:

It is difficult to explain correctly but there is stuttering/choppy performance on games/videos and all content on my HDTV @ full screen when I connect the PC to it via DVI->HDMI converter+ 3M HDMI cable.

When I am using standard computer monitors (connected via DVI cables) performance is fine and everything runs properly. When I connect games consoles to the TV, everything is fine. The PC to TV connection/configuration is where my problem exists.

I get proper framerates in games. Even running on the HDTV I get good frame rates but there is bad stuttering to the motion. For example Street Figther Arcade edition was running at 300-400FPS but the motion was terrible! Likewise, playing Blu rays from the PS3 is fine, but running them off the PC yields stuttery/choppy performance on the HDTV.

Cause:

It seems that this is related to software configuration. Or perhaps, the HDMI cable and DVI->HDMI converter can't handle the bandwidth for 1920x1080? I don't want to overlook anything. Running games or video content full screen has choppy playback. When I come out of full screen mode and into "windowed" (by pushing alt+enter for example) the motion is much better.

I am sure some of you have experienced stuff like this so please help me out!

For reference:

i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
16GB RAM
2x 560ti SLI
Crucial M4 128GB SSD
Windows 7 64bit

Latest Nvidia drivers
Using ULTRAMON for display profiles (I can confirm the problem is NOT related to this software)
The HDTV gets "recommended" a smaller resolution of ~1366x768 which may be worth noting. It is a 1080p television and 1920x1080 works fine apart from the motion problem. Also I use 60Hz for the refresh rate and I can't seem to change this at all.

PC displays: Dell Ultrasharp U2711/Samsung 245B

HDTV: Toshiba 42" LED

W/100HZ motion plus (problem exists whether this feature is on or off)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 04:32 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 511

My System Specs

Default

As dumb as it sounds try running with V-Sync on and see if that fixes it OR see if you can lock the video output to 50hz or 60hz. Where are you located? 50/100 hz is Euro-standard ant 60/120hz is North American and you said 100hz motion-plus.

Anyway, motion plus causes input lag so turn that off, and if your TV has a game mode use that for the PC connection.

DVI to HDMI cables don't have bandwidth limitations any different than the actual standards themselves so the cable wouldn't be the issue. It's either the video card(s) or TV.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 04:52 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Is there a Game Mode on your TV? Usually this disables post processing in order to deliver a smoother, lag free gaming experience.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 06:54 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

+1 for game mode.

Also, what version of HDMI cabling are you using? Isn't there a bandwidth issue using older versions of hdmi cable (1.0, 1.1, 1.2) with any refresh rate over 60Hz in full 1080p?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 10:08 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Is there a Game Mode on your TV? Usually this disables post processing in order to deliver a smoother, lag free gaming experience.
Sorry Off topic
I never heard of game mode, that is a cool idea
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 10:31 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Yeah, it just makes the picture look like crap.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2011, 11:37 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 511

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Yeah, it just makes the picture look like crap.
Often it does! But it also reduces input lag to lower levels so that's the trade-off.

I know on my Samsung C8000 Plasma I get major input lag in any mode except game mode, and then lag is down to a usable amount.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 12:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

I can confirm it is nothing to do with game mode/input lag I'm very conscious of these problems being the massive guitar hero/first person shooter fan I am!

My problem is something very different to input lag, the motion has a complete lack of smoothness like it is struggling to keep up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
+1 for game mode.

Also, what version of HDMI cabling are you using? Isn't there a bandwidth issue using older versions of hdmi cable (1.0, 1.1, 1.2) with any refresh rate over 60Hz in full 1080p?
This seems to be the direction I should be looking in. I am not sure which version HDMI cable I am using but it was a dirt cheap 3 meter cable from eBay. Now I remember the same cable provided perfectly smooth motion on my old 720p HDTV and now it doesn't keep up on the 1080P TV. Should I look for a 1.3 HDMI cable? what version is the one which comes with the PS3 I have one of those I could test...

I know the 10000000000+ HDMI cables are a well known ripoff, but maybe I should invest more than 5 in a decent cable?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 12:40 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Try with a single GTX 560 installed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2011, 03:04 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmutz06 View Post
Should I look for a 1.3 HDMI cable? what version is the one which comes with the PS3 I have one of those I could test...

I know the 10000000000+ HDMI cables are a well known ripoff, but maybe I should invest more than 5 in a decent cable?

I believe the HDMI cable with the PS3 would be 1.3, which should be fine. But yes, I would test another cable out of curiosity.

Don't confuse 'expensive' with 'good quality'. Any HDMI cable from monoprice.com is going to be v1.4, and you'll get a great deal on it. A rule of thumb is to simply steer clear of retail stores for cabling as this is the largest mark-up item they have. I think the average is somewhere around 1000% mark-up for cables at retail. (buying a cable for $2 and selling for $20)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest 1920x1080 JJThomp Display Units 6 March 21, 2011 08:56 AM
560Ti SLI benchies... Delavan Video Cards 7 February 3, 2011 03:08 AM
PC choppy/laggy issues. stephenc44 Troubleshooting 4 April 14, 2010 06:37 PM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 08:03 PM