Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 12:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Try with a single GTX 560 installed.
What would this achieve? Everything is completely normal on my computer monitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
I believe the HDMI cable with the PS3 would be 1.3, which should be fine. But yes, I would test another cable out of curiosity.

Don't confuse 'expensive' with 'good quality'. Any HDMI cable from monoprice.com is going to be v1.4, and you'll get a great deal on it. A rule of thumb is to simply steer clear of retail stores for cabling as this is the largest mark-up item they have. I think the average is somewhere around 1000% mark-up for cables at retail. (buying a cable for $2 and selling for $20)
I know it. I will try to find a v1.4 cable on Amazon or eBay sadly monoprice.com is US and I'm in UK! :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 09:50 AM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Default

Single GPU would elevate the micro-stutters you are experiencing.

That choppyness are the inconsistant frames being rendered by each card.
No card can operate 100% like the other, thus creating tiny micro-stutters.

Even running at 400FPS, stutters happen every few frames, making it seem like 10fps.

But with one card running at 60 or less without these stutters look MUCH better in comparison.

Food for thought - 400fps is the average overall calculated every few miliseconds,
the microstutters happen at an even smaller time than that, thus not effecting the FPS but effecting the consistency and fluidness of the frames

hope this helps :)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 10:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

cause trying one card would rule out a possible SLI problem with output to a tv

its called trouble shooting

we think of possible solutions and provide them...its to rule out possible causes

if you use one card, and it works fine, then we would know its related directly to the SLI and output to the TV
if its still not ok, then it has nothing to do with SLI and we move on

however taking the card out is fairly quick and easy...


and i'm 99% sure you are probably using DVI to your monitors and not HDMI
if one of your monitors can

try the HDMI to a monitor instead
see if its still choppy
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 08:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

this is an older thread but the first thing I would think that would cause stutters is codec problems what I would have done is loaded the vid onto VLC and see if the stutter goes away or is better if it did or plays better then it would definitely be a codec problem
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 11:35 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmutz06 View Post
Problem:



PC displays: Dell Ultrasharp U2711/Samsung 245B

HDTV: Toshiba 42" LED
So does it flicker/stutter only on the HDTV? Not on the u2711?

If so then 10/1 it is going to be a cable issue.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 01:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

as shadow pointed out. its an older thread. never noticed just saw it as "new" so replied
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 01:23 PM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Exclamation

YOYOO! I MAY HAVE A SOLUTION!

If you are running a 120hz monitor you MAY experience frame drops/stutters every few seconds/miliseconds or what ever.

I JUST experienced this like 2 seconds ago. I dont know why, but i forced 60hz and no more stuttering.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 09:20 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Yes, first thing I would've thought to check would be refresh rate if I was OP. I don't see him mentioning that he checked that in here, however 10e who was the first to reply asked him to check this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest 1920x1080 JJThomp Display Units 6 March 21, 2011 08:56 AM
560Ti SLI benchies... Delavan Video Cards 7 February 3, 2011 03:08 AM
PC choppy/laggy issues. stephenc44 Troubleshooting 4 April 14, 2010 06:37 PM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 08:03 PM