Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 1, 2011, 08:03 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Question Bounty for Multi Monitor Setup Advice

Background
I've been doing research now for close to three months on what new monitors to buy.
I currently have a BENQ FP241W which has been great for 4 years. Over the past 2 years however the the top middle area of the display has becoming increasingly burnt-in. There is a pattern that is ALWAYS there, it looks like a cloud almost, and any image in that area left up for more then 5-10 minutes will persist for hours.

What I am looking for
I'm looking to buy two monitors in the 23.5-24 inch range with comparable latency to my FP241W. I've considered both getting two separate monitors for separate uses, but I would prefer getting two monitors that are the same, or have very similar colors.
  • Same or lower latency and input lag as my 241W
  • Preferebly one without a record of image persistence
  • Decent Color accuracy. I do a lot of design work, but I am not extremely picky when it comes to colors.
  • No preference towards Matte or Glossy screens
  • No preference towards back light type.
  • I hate over saturated colors.
  • At least one monitors must be 16:10, prefer both to be.
  • No lower resolution then 1920x1200 or 1920x1080
  • Great real world contrast ratio.
  • Decent viewing angle. I sometimes watch t.v. or play games from my couch which is about 1-15 feet away.
  • Preferably no more expensive then $600 each.
PIP, multiple inputs, speakers optional but nice.

The closest I have come to a decision is the dell U2410, but almost all the programs I use are not color space aware, and I really dislike over saturated colors. The Eizo Foris FX2431 seems perfect, but waaay to expensive. The only way I could consider buying that is if I was sure both would last 10 years.

I'd like to see both VAs and IPS panel types, as I haven't been able to decide which to get.