Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKW View Post
Yea I have been looking how to calibrate it with not much luck.
Hardware: Pantone Eye-One Display LT: Amazon.ca: Software (also look on Amazon US and eBay)

Software: http://www.curtpalme.com/docs/HCFR_Setup_v2_0_1.exe

Guide: GREYSCALE & COLOUR CALIBRATION FOR DUMMIES

You'll also want a USB extension cable so the probe can reach from your laptop in a comfortable sitting position to your TV. I purchased mine from monoprice.com but I also had a bunch of other cables I was ordering. If you only need one cable, I suggest going on eBay. You can find whatever length you're looking for and shipping will be cheaper compared to monoprice.com. For example: $13 shipped for a 20ft cable. Or $4 shipped for a 15ft cable.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

Last edited by YukonTrooper; July 3, 2011 at 05:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2011, 11:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I think you'll like the LG. It has a matte screen and it seems that most of their 5XX series tv's got good reviews. I purchased the 47" LD520 in february and have been loving it ever since. It has nice features and the auto digital audio passthrough via optical is nice as well. No need to switch between audio signals (blu ray, pc, cable box, etc).
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 07:15 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 530

My System Specs

Default

AVSforum is always a great place to look. Many people use the Colorimeter that YukonTrooper listed above (EyeOne LT) and a program called HCFR to calibrate as well.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 10:49 AM
SKW's Avatar
SKW SKW is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Valley
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
AVSforum is always a great place to look. Many people use the Colorimeter that YukonTrooper listed above (EyeOne LT) and a program called HCFR to calibrate as well.
Yea i looked there for my model of TV. I was hoping to find someone that had the same model and posted the setting. I had no luck tho.

Oh well, i may invest in the stuff at some point
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2011, 04:57 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

All the suggestions above are fine, but if you have a discerning eye and want movies to look exactly as they should as well the best monitor for gaming, go with a PANASONIC PLASMA, GT30 Model or better.

Nothing out there touches these. Period. I've drank the Kool-aid and went LCD/LED. 120hz, 240hz (and it's not even true 120hz, do your research) can't stand them. 2ms and I hate gaming on them, I notice the refresh rate.

Can't believe I thought I was 'taking a chance' when I went Plasma.

Samsung makes ok Plasmas, but they should spend less $$ on designers and more on engineers.

Panasonic has been the unofficial 'King' of Plasma for years. And we should start seeing some Pioneer parts in them now that Pioneer has bowed out of making Plasma's but has a deal to supply Panny with parts.

I suggest the Panasonic GT30 or better b/c of Picture Quality, 3D, extra's (USB etc) and they have improved aesthetics over previous models.

Burn in?? NO. A wise Plasma owner will still do a 150 hour 'break in' when they first get it so the Phosphors harden (also why new Plasma's burn hotter than a broken in on) making burn in highly unlikely, unless you actually try to.

I was high on T3's after a surgery and was playing Fallout New Vegas for 12 hours straight. Thats 12 hours with strong static images on the screen, no burn in, some image retention for a while, that's it. (image retention is similar as when turning off a tube TV that's been on a static image for a while, on the blank screen you can still kinda see it.)

Plasma- Colours, colours, colours.

600hz sub-field drive.

The best lcd/led is what, 240hz? And it's not even a true 240. The new Samsung 120hz 'Auto Motion-Plus' drives me nuts, all it does it recreate a Digital Frame in between two original frames to reduce motion blur (which it does) but the result is that it removes the 'polished movie look', making everything look like it was filmed with a cheap-ass camcorder. Think British TV show quality.

Once you go over 37" forget about lcd/led (same shit, just different backlighting system)

Last edited by The Quicken; August 29, 2011 at 05:08 AM. Reason: b/c I don't believe in proof reading
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Couple of Stuff r0k0 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 10, 2011 12:48 PM
Stuck... Reyzac New Builds 16 August 26, 2010 11:03 AM
Stuck - FILE_IO_ERROR LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 May 5, 2010 05:01 AM
WU Stuck! Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 10, 2009 04:12 PM
WU is stuck punk_zappa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 5, 2009 06:32 PM