Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 01:19 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default RCA alternative?

Hey guys! Just bought a new TV which is a Sharp Aquos Quattron 40 inch. The only problem is that she have no RCA. I actually need RCA for my hold VCR player. The TV have a MINI AV jack input but I can't find any RCA to MINI AV jack. Do you guys have ( provide link if possible ) Any cable that you know will work to take my RCA to HDMI or component or even a MINI AV jack.
Ask me if you need more info ;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 01:29 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,732

My System Specs

Default

Did it come with any adapters?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 01:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default

Definitely no point in adapting it to Component as that would require an Analog-to-Digital convertor and an upscaler, which cost more than it's worth.

Does it have traditional coaxial input? Probably best to just use that. Unless you get your TV over antenna, then I guess that won't work either.

Perhaps something like this: Sony AV Cable (Mini Jack-RCA Jack) Video Cables VMC20FR - Vistek Canada Product Detail would do?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 02:52 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

There is a coax out on the VHS but I have no idea if it's actually able to output the VHS signal.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 02:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

why do you need RCA at all? daisy the coax on the back of the VCR

edit: of course it is, why do you think it's there for? the signal cable goes in the input, and the output leads to the TV
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 05:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,726

My System Specs

Default

It'll be outputting on either channel 3 or channel 4 of the TV tuner.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 06:23 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Lark, the problem is that all output are marked for DVD of VHS but the coax so I have no idea if I can plug it to TV and use it for the VHS. Since I have no coax on hand I can't try it unfortunatly -_- But well I think it will be less expensive to buy a cheap 6 feet coax and try it than searching for a RCA to something something.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 07:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

....what? why would a VCR be marked for DVD?

there should be an INPUT and an OUTPUT - you should already have a cable to the INPUT if you record from cable television.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 07:41 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I didn't say that...in fact I have done a mistake :) All output are marked for DVD OR for VCR. But, the HDMI is not marked ( and it can only output direct signal, si can't be used with DVD or VCR ) so is it the same story with the coax output? I wont know until I get my hand on a cable and try it. Would be nice that it work so I wouldn't have to order a 40$ cable for the GF to be able to listen at her old movie...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2011, 07:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

ok, I'm lost. What outputs are you talking about?

I'm referring to outputs from the VCR. Nothing about DVD or anything having to do with a DVD player.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative to SPlayer sakage.shinga O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 23, 2011 03:05 PM
PC to TV with HDMI, TV to Amp and speakers with RCA duffman03 HTPC Systems & Software 9 December 2, 2010 07:23 AM
Alternative to Nero geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 2, 2009 03:27 PM
Molex Alternative? Xillion Peripherals 7 August 11, 2009 06:46 AM
Alternative to X58? Ging9 Rumor Mill 28 March 31, 2009 12:12 AM