Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 04:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nicaragua, Central America
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default confusion about 32" LCD HDTV optimal resolution

Hey cybernetically-gifted friends!!!


I recently purchased a new LCD HDTV to use as gaming TV and PC monitor but I cannot seem to find the correct display resolution that will not hurt my eyesight. It's a 32" LG LD330 and the manual says that the TV's optimal PC resolution is 1360x768. I have it hooked up to my PC through an HDMI cable that connects to the back of my radeon hd 6870. The thing is, control panel resolution settings say that my TV's optimal resolution is not 1360x768 but 1280x720.

Which resolution is truly the best? I have tried both but neither is all that comfortable to my eyes in comparison to my old 14" AOC VGA monitor. My eyes get tired after a while and the letters in both resolutions have an almost fuzzy quality, like a background afterimage.

Any suggestions on how to solve this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 05:16 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

have you enabled the 720 hd settings in the CCC
there is different htz ratings which may enable you to find a resolution of your liking
do note and CCC will tell you as well that choosing the wrong display settings can harm your screen
so dont go to hog wild and choose some outrageous settings.
I have been running a 32" lcd since late 07 myself and will never go back
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 05:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nicaragua, Central America
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
have you enabled the 720 hd settings in the CCC
there is different htz ratings which may enable you to find a resolution of your liking
do note and CCC will tell you as well that choosing the wrong display settings can harm your screen
so dont go to hog wild and choose some outrageous settings.
I have been running a 32" lcd since late 07 myself and will never go back

thanks for the suggestion coleo....

Now at the risk of sounding like a total idiot......how do I do that?( without screwing up my LCD display). I am using the latest ATI catalyst drivers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 05:41 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

oddly enough my CCC is missing at this moment ( dont know why)
in advanced settings not basic there will be a my flat panel/s tab. in there at the bottom i do believe there is an enable hdtv settings. in there there will be some 720 settings at different hrtz ratings and it will give you the warnings and whatnot. choose your poison in there so to say but you are going to know right away which settings the tv does not like and i myself like to be right quick on the revert setting. if the screen goes blank just turn the set off and do nothing for a minute. CCC will revert in 30 seconds if you do nothing.
now also did you lcd not come with a cd as a manual?
it might be in there that you will find info on what YOUR set likes the most

I am off to find out where my CCC went
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 06:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nicaragua, Central America
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

well I do have a manual that came with the TV but not a CD. Should the LG LD330 series come with a CD as well?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 06:34 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

hmmm, i have a samsung 32inch 720p t.v and the text comes out blurry for me too lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 06:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nicaragua, Central America
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf1 View Post
hmmm, i have a samsung 32inch 720p t.v and the text comes out blurry for me too lol

Ahhhh....a fellow non-conformist Have you tried to solve this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 07:02 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Technically the text should be blurry since there is a lot of space between each pixel. My 19 inch LCD 720P does this as well.

But yeah, definitely use the "Advance Mode" in CCC. Probably under Display Manager or Color.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 07:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

use a different hdmi input on the tv. i had this problem with my samsung 1360 by 768 and as it turns out only one of my HDMI connections will let me display it . Try every tv hdmi input you have on the TV
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 07:54 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

+1 to Johnny's comment.

Some TV's designate a specific port for PC input. You can probably find that info in the owner's manual.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTS: 42" Toshiba REGZA LCD HDTV 1080p FULL HD Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 30 March 19, 2008 07:57 AM