Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 07:45 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default Monitor return problems..

Hey everyone, this is my first post on this forum and hope to contribute more then ask questions!

Anyway, just over a year ago I purchased a Samsung 275T+ at a local retailer and got there 2 year plan that protects me with pretty much any problem that comes up. About 6 months in the monitor started doing some weird things like changing colors for some reason. So I took it in and they changed it out with a new one because it was still available. After getting the second 275T+ home from the store first thing I see is a burnt out pixel on the side. This time I didn't take it back and decided to hold onto it for a while because it was really not to noticeable and I was working a ton of hours at the time.

Now a couple weeks ago I have been starting to get a lot of free time on my hands so I lugged this thing out of my house and took it to the store to change it out. Long story short, they kept it for a couple days and called me back and said they will change it out with a Samsung P2770FH. They say that they will change it out with either the same model or similar. So I started looking up the specs on this monitor and it was nowhere near as good as my 275T+. Mine has a 1920x1200 resolution, S-PVA panel, better viewing angles, higher brightness and so on. I paid over $800 for the 275T+ and this P2770FH is $340. Mine is also a professional monitor, how can they think that it is similar with a TN panel? What do you guys think I should do?

I just feel like taking back the old 275T+ home and deal with the burnt pixel. Seems like a unfair exchange.

Thanks.
__________________



Home office: Asus Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970, 16GB

Out of town: P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i5 2500k with H70, EVGA GTX 670, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate 500GB.

Folders:
1. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 3-EVGA GTX 480's, 12GB, Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
2. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 1-GTX 480, 1-GTX 580, 6GB, Corsair 60gig SSD
3. P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 2-EVGA 295's - Down..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 09:55 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Just tell them exactly what you told us. Print the description of your old and the supposedly new monitor.

Do they have any other monitor thats similar to yours?
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 05:21 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I'll be taking in the comparisons when I get back home. I finally found some documentation on it.

They had called me 2 hours before I was leaving out of town for work so I went down to the store to see if I could work something out. I'm out of town until the 23rd.

Problem is that they only carry TN panel monitors now and they didn't seem interested in ordering me something else from another brand. It was the best they had in the store. It doesn't state in the protection plan that it has to be the same brand either.

So yeah I guess ill take in the full specs because they said that they couldn't find anything on it for some reason when I get back. Ill see what they say now.
__________________



Home office: Asus Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970, 16GB

Out of town: P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i5 2500k with H70, EVGA GTX 670, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate 500GB.

Folders:
1. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 3-EVGA GTX 480's, 12GB, Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
2. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 1-GTX 480, 1-GTX 580, 6GB, Corsair 60gig SSD
3. P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 2-EVGA 295's - Down..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 05:23 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I'm fairly certain in most company's protection plan though that they must replace the item with something of equal or greater value. Just from a price point they aren't holding up that agreement.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 07:54 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I'm fairly certain in most company's protection plan though that they must replace the item with something of equal or greater value. Just from a price point they aren't holding up that agreement.
Yeah but not these guys, I did explain about the prince thing but they say that was a year and a half ago. I know they sold that monitor for the same price I bought it for up until a few months ago.

It says for discontinued models: "unable to provide the exact same product for replacement, an equivalent item with the same or similar technical specifications will be provided" This was the part I was starting to argue with because they aren't at all. I was talking with the manager and I could tell he knew what I was talking about but still fought the point but didnt feel like dealing with me any longer. I was running out of time so I needed to go anyway.

Ahh well, I hope when I get back home I can get this all sorted out, just kinda ranting. Looking around to find monitors with a VA panel and they are very hard to find. Lots of IPS panels now.
__________________



Home office: Asus Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970, 16GB

Out of town: P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i5 2500k with H70, EVGA GTX 670, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate 500GB.

Folders:
1. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 3-EVGA GTX 480's, 12GB, Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
2. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 1-GTX 480, 1-GTX 580, 6GB, Corsair 60gig SSD
3. P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 2-EVGA 295's - Down..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 12:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,497

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure what current policy is, but for the longest period of time, a single bad pixel wouldn't be grounds for replacement. IIRC, most monitor companies required 3 together for it to be considered for RMA.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 01:40 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, I wouldn't accept a TN panel in place of a PVA panel... ever.
They can argue details such as similar size, contrast, etc. but really it's like getting your Lexus or Acura replaced with a Toyota/Honda

Once you use a PVA/IPS quality monitor (and have the needs for it) it's difficult to grow accustom to TN again.

Unfortunately, Samsung no longer produces any other large panels except for a 23in CPVA

Does said company sell Dell products? The U2711 is a 27" IPS monitor that would be a suitable replacement, or the now EOL 2709W is a PVA.

Or both the Dell U3011 and HP ZR30W are larger 30" IPS panels.


That said, dead pixel's aren't technically considered a defect unless they conform to certain minimum requirements such as cluster of 5+ or 7-10 depending on screen size. Unless said companies plan specifically has a dead pixel clause?

Last edited by FiXT; February 8, 2011 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 02:31 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Yeah thats exactly what I told them, I wouldn't accept that monitor at all. I'm glad someone is with me, It's such a amazing monitor for its colors and brightness.

No, they don't sell Dell monitors but could find out if they can special order other makes.

Well part of there protection plan was a zero dead or stuck pixel policy so I'm taking advantage of it because I paid extra for it. I bought the 2 year plan. I mean they were going to change it out so they did honor the 1 dead pixel. I guess I have more of a stuck pixel because its green all the time?

I know its only 1 pixel but its pretty noticable on a black background, it just sticks out.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2011, 05:35 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tray View Post
Yeah thats exactly what I told them, I wouldn't accept that monitor at all. I'm glad someone is with me, It's such a amazing monitor for its colors and brightness.

No, they don't sell Dell monitors but could find out if they can special order other makes.

Well part of there protection plan was a zero dead or stuck pixel policy so I'm taking advantage of it because I paid extra for it. I bought the 2 year plan. I mean they were going to change it out so they did honor the 1 dead pixel. I guess I have more of a stuck pixel because its green all the time?

I know its only 1 pixel but its pretty noticable on a black background, it just sticks out.
Ahh stuck pixel. Have you tried massaging gently with a cloth. I actually find a good 50% of stuck pixels can be "unstuxelated" (new word, you like it?) by using the massage or using a dead pixel tool like, JScreenFix - Fix stuck pixels
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2011, 05:29 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

No I didn't try massaging it. Now that you mention it someone did tell me about that years ago. The guy at the store said they were going to try somethings so I assume they did try that, but who knows.

I still have a feeling I'm going to get jacked on this monitor exchange so Ill probably be taking back my old monitor and try massaging it.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rebooting problems with new monitor soambiatch Display Units 2 January 10, 2011 05:24 PM
UltraSharp Return Policy? JD Display Units 16 March 3, 2010 03:38 PM
Components return rates Kilauea Reviews & Articles from the Web 18 October 24, 2009 06:29 PM
should I return it. Ken_C RAM 27 October 3, 2008 04:05 PM
Dual monitor problems ragenrok Video Cards 4 May 4, 2007 11:34 AM