Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #231 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 04:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Guys can I ask if I was to run 2 msi gtx 660 tis would it be possible to run six monitors I'm talking about SLI as I would not use the SLI bridge
Reply With Quote
  #232 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 08:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 58
Default

No, I'm afraid with NV cards you can only run 3 screens. For 6 screens I would recommend 2, or more(!!) ATI cards. AFAIK to even run 3 screens on NV you need SLI, although if you are running them as individual screens someone may know better. Why would you not use the SLI connector? If this is in a professional environment something like the ATI Firepro 9800 card would likely be a better fit as opposed to consumer cards.
Reply With Quote
  #233 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 10:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boggle View Post
Guys can I ask if I was to run 2 msi gtx 660 tis would it be possible to run six monitors I'm talking about SLI as I would not use the SLI bridge
Like I told you earlier today, 4 screens is the max for Nvidia's Surround mode. Stop asking the same question over and over in multiple threads please.
Reply With Quote
  #234 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2012, 06:25 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Late for the Party, But i just set-up 3 Acers 24" With a MSI GTX680 4gb TwinFrozen.

I wish i would have done this awhile ago.

Ill post pics when i clean the bombshelter a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #235 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2012, 06:26 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

Just be warned Chromey that not a lot of games still properly support 3 monitor gaming so you may be disappointed at times at the developers.
Reply With Quote
  #236 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2012, 07:39 PM
Fingercramps's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 44
Default

Do you still need to pay for an adapter for Eyefinity or Surround? Or can I just use a Dual link DVI Cable for each monitor respectably and be fine?
Reply With Quote
  #237 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 09:11 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Just be warned Chromey that not a lot of games still properly support 3 monitor gaming so you may be disappointed at times at the developers.

Totally agree, the support for triple monitors seems to be getting worse so I'm thinking about changing my triple monitor setup for a 27 or 30" soon.
Reply With Quote
  #238 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 10:28 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Totally agree, the support for triple monitors seems to be getting worse so I'm thinking about changing my triple monitor setup for a 27 or 30" soon.
I honestly think that a U3011 is the best bet right now. Better in the long run if you have the $$$$

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #239 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 06:40 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

You read my mind, that is the model I've been looking at. My biggest decision will be 27 or 30.
Reply With Quote
  #240 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 04:55 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

I'm heavy on the driving games/sims so I'm taking the plunge to multi-monitorhood today. I realize my single HD7770 is going to scream in pain, but we'll fix that next month which leads me to my next question:

I'm strongly looking at the 7950 since my budget is stuck under $300. Not really interested in Nvidia, but I would get a 6 series Ti if the price was dropped a few $$$. For driving games/sims, how much HP does the video card really need?
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 2D 3D surround vision scruff Display Units 15 January 24, 2011 12:37 PM
NVIDIA's 3D Vision Surround: A Game Changing Experience? SKYMTL Display Units 20 June 30, 2010 06:00 PM
[FS] 3x 24" sceens for EyeFiniTy / ATI FirePro V8700/ATI HD3650 AIW/CF bridges/sli bridges ArmenianLegend Buy/Sell & Trade 20 April 7, 2010 04:36 PM
The Official Hwc Air-cooled Overclock Compare Adn Discussion Thread cadaveca Air Cooling 0 November 16, 2008 09:33 AM
163.44 BETA official (from nvidia) Gamashinoch Video Cards 8 August 22, 2007 06:25 AM