Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 08:31 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

How does that work for you when you're browsing the internet, or web browsing. As i tend to use my centre monitor for these tasks (rather then stretching web browsing and such across the three monitors). Do you just have it sized to so that it only fits in the viewable section of the middle monitor?
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 09:20 AM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
How does that work for you when you're browsing the internet, or web browsing. As i tend to use my centre monitor for these tasks (rather then stretching web browsing and such across the three monitors). Do you just have it sized to so that it only fits in the viewable section of the middle monitor?
Yep, I just size each window to whichever display I place it in. I do multitask, especially when I mod my games and such. It's fantastic to have a firefox window in one display, a file folder in another and maybe even a movie or something in the other.

I also love when watching YouTube vids that others with Surround/Eyefinity post, you can pop out the video and watch it spanned on all three displays just like it's being played on your system. Such a cool idea. I've actually posted a few myself.
__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 09:26 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I may try moving my monitors around the same to help remove the bezels. I've noticed unlike AMD, Nvidia doesn't allow you to compensate for the actual gaps between the monitors, just to align them so that they are fluid across the screens.
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:14 AM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I may try moving my monitors around the same to help remove the bezels. I've noticed unlike AMD, Nvidia doesn't allow you to compensate for the actual gaps between the monitors, just to align them so that they are fluid across the screens.
Just set your displays how you like them, then correct your resolution around the bezels. Works wonderfully for me because my bezels are quite large. I'm considering removing the casing for a smaller bezel area.
__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:23 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I have them set up like that, my point more was the fact that AMD will actually allow you to compensate for the dead space that can be between the bezel of the middle monitor and the other monitor so that you can actually have "blind spots". Whereas with nVidia you have to bezel correct the angle of the monitors but its still just stretched across the monitors, so if my mouse was to go between the two monitors, where a bezel is, it appears either on the side monitor or the centre, rather then in the actual dead spot. Hope I explained myself better this time
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:47 AM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I have them set up like that, my point more was the fact that AMD will actually allow you to compensate for the dead space that can be between the bezel of the middle monitor and the other monitor so that you can actually have "blind spots". Whereas with nVidia you have to bezel correct the angle of the monitors but its still just stretched across the monitors, so if my mouse was to go between the two monitors, where a bezel is, it appears either on the side monitor or the centre, rather then in the actual dead spot. Hope I explained myself better this time
Ah, yes, that does make sense now. That would be a nice feature if nVidia were to include it.
__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 10:49 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

That's why I thought you had your monitors set up like that, sparking the potential good idea it would be for me as well.
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2011, 03:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 58
Default

I must post a detraction - BRINK does not support Eyefinity in any shape as far as I've found. Was meant to say NO support, please amend master list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoSalmon View Post
Brink - Full support. - edit - NO SUPPORT
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 04:43 PM
OneManHitSquad's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 60

My System Specs

Default our current setups

these are our current Eyefinity/Nvidia surround setups...as you all probably know..."system components subject to change without prior notice" hahaha

my Eyefinity



the wifes Eyefinity



cafe 3D Surround Vision


Last edited by OneManHitSquad; June 18, 2011 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2011, 06:02 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Holy.... nice setups.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 2D 3D surround vision scruff Display Units 15 January 24, 2011 01:37 PM
NVIDIA's 3D Vision Surround: A Game Changing Experience? SKYMTL Display Units 20 June 30, 2010 07:00 PM
The Official Hwc Air-cooled Overclock Compare Adn Discussion Thread cadaveca Air Cooling 0 November 16, 2008 10:33 AM
163.44 BETA official (from nvidia) Gamashinoch Video Cards 8 August 22, 2007 07:25 AM