Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2011, 02:36 PM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

I did a partial cleanup so I could take a pic (I really need to fix my cables).

@ SnoSalmon, I totally recommend getting a stand for your G27, they are amazing.
Wheel Stand Pro | Wheel Stand | Steering Wheel Stand

Oh ya, Fear 2 - full support
Fear Reborn - full support

Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 03:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
I did a partial cleanup so I could take a pic (I really need to fix my cables).

@ SnoSalmon, I totally recommend getting a stand for your G27, they are amazing.
Wheel Stand Pro | Wheel Stand | Steering Wheel Stand

I used a roll of velcro tape to do all my cabling. I get comments from everyone who comes around asking me to go do theirs - cheap as chips from any local electrical reseller.

I'm looking at one of these (yes I'm in sunny 'ol NZ) but have been told I need to build a house first with dedicated gaming room for a race station. (this is a couple of years away still)

The desk is pretty good, the downside I find is the chair as it's reclinable and on wheels so it tends to move a little. It's not bad enough for me to get bothered about, I play GTR Evolution and Shift/Shift 2 a few hours each week. The wheel clamps down on the desk really well, and I slide it aside when not using it.
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 04:17 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

I can't be bothered to do cable management due to the amount of moving I've been during my stay as a university/college student and hopefully will be done moving when school's done in a couple years.

Great job none the less
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 07:36 PM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Here's a shot from about a month ago. I've since upgraded the rig to what's now in my sig, including 3GB GTX580's in which I should be receiving the third one tomorrow.

__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 07:44 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Very nice set up, interesting angling of your monitors though
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 10:33 PM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Very nice set up, interesting angling of your monitors though
How so? Do you mean how they are angled slightly toward me?
__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2011, 11:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 58
Default

I had to take a second look to figure out what the go was with the angling - but spotted it.

_CH_Skyline with 3 GTX580's you must be severely CPU limited? I guess at almost 5Ghz (WOW!) it probably isn't as bad as if it was at stock.
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 04:26 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it seems like you are overlapping them to get rid of the bezels?
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 05:11 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Yes, it seems like you are overlapping them to get rid of the bezels?

I tried that once and for some reason It did not feel right, maybe because I have small 20" monitors.

Skyline, I like your table. Where did you buy it ??
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2011, 06:30 AM
_CH_Skyline_'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoSalmon View Post
I had to take a second look to figure out what the go was with the angling - but spotted it.

_CH_Skyline with 3 GTX580's you must be severely CPU limited? I guess at almost 5Ghz (WOW!) it probably isn't as bad as if it was at stock.
I was very cpu limited when I had my Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4Ghz, now I'm much better off with the i5-2500k. These chips oc so well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Yes, it seems like you are overlapping them to get rid of the bezels?
Yes, I'm effectively halving the bezel area and it definitely works for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
I tried that once and for some reason It did not feel right, maybe because I have small 20" monitors.

Skyline, I like your table. Where did you buy it ??
I suppose the overlap is personal preference.

I bought the desk from two ladies who posted it on CraigsList for $60. It was in immaculate condition, but they were switching to laptops and didn't need a desk so large. I've seen a few others with it on OCN, but no one seems to know who the manufacturer is.
__________________
Rig 1 - Intel Core i5-2500k @ 4.9Ghz 1.41v | CoolerMaster Hyper212+ w/ UK3kRpm P/P | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Rev B3 | 8GB G.Skill Trident 1333Mhz DDR3 | 3GB GTX 580 SLi *3rd is incoming* | OCZ Vertex 2 40GB SSD (boot), 2x WD 320GB RAID-0, WD 1TB | CreAtive X-FI Fatal1ty Titanium Pro | Antec HCP-1200 | CoolerMaster HAF X | 3x HannStar 28" 5960 x 1200 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Logitech G15 rev2 | Logitech G9 Laser
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 2D 3D surround vision scruff Display Units 15 January 24, 2011 12:37 PM
NVIDIA's 3D Vision Surround: A Game Changing Experience? SKYMTL Display Units 20 June 30, 2010 06:00 PM
[FS] 3x 24" sceens for EyeFiniTy / ATI FirePro V8700/ATI HD3650 AIW/CF bridges/sli bridges ArmenianLegend Buy/Sell & Trade 20 April 7, 2010 04:36 PM
The Official Hwc Air-cooled Overclock Compare Adn Discussion Thread cadaveca Air Cooling 0 November 16, 2008 09:33 AM
163.44 BETA official (from nvidia) Gamashinoch Video Cards 8 August 22, 2007 06:25 AM