Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 29, 2007, 01:02 PM
Top Prospect

Default How to hook up to HDTV?

Hi all,

I am building a new computer and would like to use my existing HDTV as a monitor for it. I'm just wondering how I go about doing this as I've never done it before.

The computer will have an 8800 Ultra card, I'm not sure what resolution that allows up to.

The TV is a 60" Sony KDS-R60XBR1 SXRD style tv. The native resolution is 1920 x 1080. I am planning on using an HDMI cable to connect the PC. Do I need to purchase an DVI-HDMI adapater, and if so could you recommend a good one?

My only concern is how do I go about getting audio from the pc onto the TV?

Thanks for any help :)
Old November 29, 2007, 01:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

You can actually buy a DVI - HDMI cable....by Monster Cable for example.

Sound wise....that all depends....do you want the sound to go to your TV or to your stereo/audio amplifier? You would have to lead the sound from your PC soundcard to your TV directly via an audio cable. But the sound quality won't be very good since built in speakers on a TV are usually not very good! Better lead it to your amplifier directly! Do you have a soundcard?
Old November 29, 2007, 02:00 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H

Dude, your tv has a pc input. Use a normal 15 pin vga cable. Go DVI to hdmi if you like, I can't notice the quality difference myself.
Old November 29, 2007, 02:47 PM
Top Prospect

So far I've been very impressed with HDMI quality so I think I'll get that cable from monster cable...the Monster 400 for HDMI to DVI High-Def Digital Video Cable...I think that should allow me to connect the video card to the tv without any resolution problems or distortion...