Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 12:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Default Arent all screens HD?

I have gotten alittle confused, that on the HD 5970, is says it requieres a monitor which is HD-ready.

But havent all monitors been HD for many years?
it is only the TV, which has been behind?

Or do i need to get a "Special" screen for my HD 5970?

My screen is a 1680 x 1050 Widescreen Dell, 2 years old model. Is that HD-ready?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 12:59 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,562

My System Specs

Default

You'll be fine...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 09:56 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure this is one of two things:

a) The package states that viewing an HD image requires a screen resolution capable of that image. (You won't be displaying true 1080p on a 15" standard res monitor)

or

b) You're actually looking at the feature that reads: "requires a HDCP complient screen" or whatever the wording is. And HDCP is a security protocol, not a display resolution.

Either way, there's no concern using that video card with your monitor. Except that it's massive overkill for that res...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 10:13 PM
ForTheGG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 155

My System Specs

Default

+1, you'll have no problems. To clarify, true HD is 1080P resolution, so not all displays are truly HD. It depends on how you define High Definition anyways.
__________________
Lian Li PC O11 Dynamic
Intel Core i5 4690K
Asus ROG Maximus VII Formula
EVGA GTX 780 SLI
8GB Corsair Dominator 1866

Samsung EVO 840 (1TB + 250GB)
Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 11:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

that and theyre working on ayet another level of hd, something that'll make 1080p look like 720p but worse :) and $$ viable for the poor masses(us).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 05:44 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,053
Default

Don't forget there are other true HD resolutions.

720P - 1280x720
1080p - 1920x1080
2k - 20481536
4k - 40963072

HDCP is a security protocol as discussed above that has to do with Hidef and blu-ray content secured with that protocol. Also you need a HDCP compliant display device for Hi-def console gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 01:00 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexanderrazz View Post
I have gotten alittle confused, that on the HD 5970, is says it requieres a monitor which is HD-ready.

But havent all monitors been HD for many years?
it is only the TV, which has been behind?

Or do i need to get a "Special" screen for my HD 5970?

My screen is a 1680 x 1050 Widescreen Dell, 2 years old model. Is that HD-ready?
Don't worry about it. You will have no problems with this combo.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post your Design Garage screens! sertz Video Cards 5 May 10, 2010 04:02 PM
Frequent Blue Screens-HELP! flyingdutchman Troubleshooting 35 January 30, 2010 04:53 PM
Random Freezing and Black Screens jcmaz Troubleshooting 20 January 3, 2010 08:18 AM
See the Laptop With Two Full-sized Screens Unknownm Press Releases & Tech News 4 September 4, 2009 06:07 AM
Glossy Framed Screens enaberif Display Units 16 February 27, 2008 10:47 AM