Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2010, 08:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default XL2370 + PS3

Hello there. I was wondering if anyone have an idea of how it's going to look a PS3 connected to a Samsung XL2370 via HDMI cable.

I saw this comment on a page:

Quote:
Cons: Unlike a standard 1080p HDTV which "up-converts" every input signal to 1080P, all this "piece of junk" does is stretches & scales to proportion your PS3 input signal. Hence all images look blocky, choppy & blurry.
Summary: You have been warned! If you plan on playing the PS3 with this monitor, you just might have sealed your DOOM!

Unlike a standard 1080p HDTV which "up-converts" every input signal to 1080P, all this "piece of junk" does is stretches & scales to proportion your PS3 input signal (which is 720P by the way except for the new God of War III coming 2010).
Hence all images look blocky, choppy & blurry.

You see there is a chip in all the latest HDTVs that "up-converts" meaning it processes the input signal and displays it at the TVs native resolution.

I don't know of any monitor that has a so called chip.

This review does not apply to the xbox 360 as it already upconverts all images before they are ever fed into the monitor/TV.

YES! i am one very bitter customer who thought this piece of junk was the latest and greatest from samsung that could fulfill my gaming needs. girl was i wrong.

all ps3 games are truly/natively 720p and perhaps lower. the only true 1080p game i know of is the upcoming God of War III. the playstation home screen might display at 1080p but once the game starts it reverts back to 720p hence blur, chop and block...

1080p "upconverted" signals looks just as sharp & stunning as the original 720p input signal

Again, YES! i am bitter and this review is based solely on my PS3 experience with this monitor and to shed light on others whom might follow suit
and im doubting about getting a ps3 now
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 04:23 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Hmmm.....this was on my list. :(
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 04:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

the native resolution is 1920 x 1080. (16:9 ratio)

any 720p game, upconverted or not, is going to look a little blocky, but not stretched (16:9 ratio still!).

this monitor might have an upconverting engine, if it's a high-end model (I didn't google too hard, but I saw a $300 price tag) but even without one it's not going to look too horrendous or anything. it will still be 720p quality :P


it's more the fact that games aren't native 1080 (yet, jeez o.o) - but they still look just fine to me.
afaik - the 360 can't even do 1080p (right? or am I remembering wrong?) only 1080i (ugh) or 720p - so upscaling for the xbox is more important! XD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 05:03 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

This is probably a Xbox 360 fan that have nothing better to do then right review on some products and get it down. You dont have to search long on the internet to find both negative and positive about this prodcut with a PS3 so I don't really worry with that. The PS3 can actually Display 1080P if the screen is ready for. Just get it and don't stick to negative comment, you can see many of them on the internet that are from people that have not even buy the product itself. I also try to find anything about this upscaling chip in the screen but my search were not succesfull so I am pretty sure this guy only wrote that to get some interest from any people ad he just get you.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 05:30 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Yes the 360 can do native 1080p.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 12:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
Yes the 360 can do native 1080p.
indeed it can. I dunno where I pulled that from.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2010, 02:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

lol he's comparing an HDTV that costs several thosuands of $ to a sub $300 LCD monitor all these functions require production costs. I own and use this monitor myself and have used it outside its native res and the image is far from blocky or blurry, unless you're planning to display 320x240 stretched to 1080 ! Down to 1024x768 it's very acceptable, I set the sharp control to max, and at a fair distance away from the LCD it is very acceptable, yeah I mean an LCD is an LCD, there will always be a visible difference outside native specs, this is something we will have to live with, he can always spend a 5 figure on an external studio grade scaler if he wants to :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung XL2370 Evilyeti Display Units 2 July 30, 2010 11:25 PM
[FS] AMD X2 5000+ BE, Dual Core Celeron E3300 Desktop, 10GB Kingston DDR2 RAM, MORE! cb2222 Buy/Sell & Trade 24 July 26, 2010 04:56 PM
[WTB] PS3 mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 13, 2010 07:30 PM
PS3 a_ham_sandwitch Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 14 June 24, 2009 11:14 AM
SSD in a PS3? Mr. Gruntsworthy Storage 13 May 5, 2009 07:07 PM