Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 09:27 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default HDMI cable

Hello peeps.

I was looking at these two cables.

NCIX.com - Buy Ion Cables HDMI-MM-10 HDMI 1.3B M/M 10FT Digital High Quality Video Cable - HDMI-MM-10 In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy ION Cables Premium 10FT Flat HDMI V1.3 Digital High Quality Video Cable Black - HDMI-MM-10-P In Canada.

They seem to be the same quality, just that one set is flat. I posted to see what you guys think about them. If you guys know that they are good or if I should look elsewhere.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 10:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Just get whatever is cheapest. With HDMI cables, it doesn't make a difference unless you're dealing with long distances. I suggest you also have a look at Monoprice to see if you find anything there that better suits your needs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 11:25 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Get this one. It's gonna give you the same quality, but it's on sale right now for $4.99 =)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 11:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
Get this one. It's gonna give you the same quality, but it's on sale right now for $4.99 =)
That cable is also four feet shorter, although if the reduction in length isn't a problem, then it's definitely a better buy.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 04:50 AM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated. Just ordered the 15 ft version of one of the ION cables.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 08:32 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Missed this yesterday. I have a couple of those Ion cables, including a flat one. They work just fine for 1080p, unlike some of the other "cheapies" I've bought.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 09:05 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I thought these cables made no difference? Like a MONSTER HDMI cable at say $50 compared to a regular HDMI cable at $5 would give more or less the same quality.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 12:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

That is true in that they are passing a digital signal, not analog like speaker wire. They are the same if they have the same HDMI rating. In order to pass 1080p properly, you need a HDMI 1.3 cable, not HDMI or HDMI 1.1. Not all those $5 cables are HDMI 1.3 rated. I had one that wouldn't work with my PS3, but would work on my 1080i PVR.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 03:33 PM
duffman03's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I thought these cables made no difference? Like a MONSTER HDMI cable at say $50 compared to a regular HDMI cable at $5 would give more or less the same quality.
At 2m or less, there is no difference between the very expensive and very cheap cables. As the cable gets longer, it's possible that the signal could degrade somewhat.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 04:40 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Yes, but if the signal degrades, then the cable won't pass the HMDI1.3 or 1.3b rating. You just have to make sure any cable you buy is rated 1.3 if you want to pass 1080p signals. In any case, I'd never spend the money on Monster stuff, it's all marketing BS and 500% markup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40ft HDMI Cable JD HTPC Systems & Software 12 January 26, 2010 04:21 PM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 11:30 AM
HDMI Cable Question Supergrover HTPC Systems & Software 11 June 30, 2008 07:53 PM