Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 01:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I have a Spyder2Express. Works nicely on my LCDs though it doesn't work on glossy ones. It was well under $100 too, so wasn't a huge deal.

Definitely made my colours (that's the Canadian spelling) far better.

The free way is to just tweak the colour settings on the monitor by eye to whatever you think looks right. There are some programs with test patterns too that might help you a bit, but it's still what you consider right, so to somebody else it could look horrible.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 03:09 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

I have never heard of that before "Spyder2Express" mind you I am new to the calibrations of everything lol
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 03:12 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Datacolor Spyder products are all I really know of for consumer-calibration.

$78: Canada Computers - Software > Audio/Video Editing : Datacolor Spyder2 Express.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 03:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

A grainy picture while watching TV content on a PC is usually due to the tuner that you're using and not the monitor. If that's the case, the only thing you can do is get a better tuner or somehow get a better quality signal into it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 05:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
A grainy picture while watching TV content on a PC is usually due to the tuner that you're using and not the monitor. If that's the case, the only thing you can do is get a better tuner or somehow get a better quality signal into it.
well I have my tv plugged in at the same time and the picture on my PC monitor is sometimes grainy but the picture on my TV is clear
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 06:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
well I have my tv plugged in at the same time and the picture on my PC monitor is sometimes grainy but the picture on my TV is clear
How are you getting the TV signal to display on your PC? Are you running it through a cable or satellite box and then sending that to a TV input, or are you using an actual TV tuner card in your PC to get a cable signal? If it's the latter, then it's probably the tuner in your PC that's giving you a grainy image.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 08:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't Windows 7 have a LCD monitor calibration feature? I used it before and I didn't like it that much though....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 04:19 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
[...]how do I calibrate my computers monitor or how can I tell if it needs calibrating?
Spyder2 Express + HCFR = priceless.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 06:56 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 423

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
how do I calibrate my computers monitor or how can I tell if it needs calibrating?
Cheap methods here: Display Calibration - DisplayCalibration.com - Calibrate your computer display or monitor online for optimal viewing. Brightness, contrast, color depth, resolution and freeware software downloads.
This is good enough if you are not doing photo processing.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 10:19 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
How are you getting the TV signal to display on your PC? Are you running it through a cable or satellite box and then sending that to a TV input, or are you using an actual TV tuner card in your PC to get a cable signal? If it's the latter, then it's probably the tuner in your PC that's giving you a grainy image.
ok but that doesn't explain why my TV is getting better picture ( non grainy) the tv is hooked up through the video card Vis s vid plug in
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Computers - How do you do it? silent1mezzo Off Topic 25 August 6, 2009 02:36 AM
not seeing hdd in my computers. Cadence Storage 11 April 14, 2009 06:26 PM
2 computers, one monitor....... rob123 Display Units 12 December 31, 2008 04:58 PM
old computers and parts CTA Off Topic 15 October 7, 2008 07:43 PM
lu computers... Rausch Off Topic 3 January 28, 2008 03:30 PM