Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 01:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default LAPTOP HDMI TO LCD TV HDMI NOT WORKING

I tried to hook up my laptop with HDMI port to a Samsung LCD HD TV.
Both machines have HDMI port and I tried to connect them with a HDMI cable.
But the TV doesn't detect the laptop.
What's going on?
Could you help me? I'm using XP pro.
Thank you.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 02:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default

It worked momentarily; I don't know what I did.
But the picture was not optimized; the edges of the screen were cut off.
My laptop supports up to 1280X800 and the LCD tv supports up to 1920X1600. Maybe that's why?
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 03:07 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Number 1: typing in CAPS is a no no.

Why don't you try to update your video card drivers.
Look for PC only inputs on the tv manual and use that port.
Lastly, call tech support for Samsung.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 09:55 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 822

My System Specs

Default

this is where having ATI graphics on your laptop makes it all worth the while. Senses your HDMI display and fills the screen beautifully on the first try... no tweaking needed. What is your graphics chipset on the laptop?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 01:39 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I am having similar issues and am using an ATI graphics card.

In my case, I am using an Akai 42 LCD TV. It worked awesome except for very occasionally it would lose its picture - just lines, flickering. Sometimes the color gets messed up. Sometimes there stripes/dots distributed geometrically on the screen.

Restarting the TV fixed it. It got worse over a couple of weeks. I lowered the resolution from 1024X768 on my PC to 800X600 and it worked better for a while. Now, however, it is pretty much unwatchable.

Also, this happens now when I test out the VGA connections as well (from 2 computers)

My specs:
MacBook Pro
Vista Ultimate in Windows (under bootcamp)
ATI Radeon Mobile X1600

Many thanks for any help/direction!

Last edited by HatHead; December 11, 2009 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 09:32 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
this is where having ATI graphics on your laptop makes it all worth the while. Senses your HDMI display and fills the screen beautifully on the first try... no tweaking needed. What is your graphics chipset on the laptop?
No issues here at all...same connection method...Asus G51J with GeForce GTX 260M on an LG LCD 42" HD display!

Quote:
I am having similar issues and am using an ATI graphics card.
uh huh......

Anyhow, just tried it again and everything works flawlessly here..just have to set sound in Realtek Control to HDMI....one little annoyance is that the picture appears to be "cropped" at the outer edges all the wat around the screen...I'm sure can be fixed with a little more tweaking!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; December 11, 2009 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2009, 07:53 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

you just need to find a res and aspect ratio that's supported by both for both to work
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 09:26 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
No issues here at all...same connection method...Asus G51J with GeForce GTX 260M on an LG LCD 42" HD display!
Hey, can you tell me which NVIDIA drivers you got (195.62 WHQL)? I got the same laptop and can't get any video via HDMI. The Samsung TV is also 1080p and when the cable is connected it detects the TV, so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:00 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Worked for me on 186.81, but have since installed 195.62 WHQL, haven't tried it with this Driver, Im sure it will work fine. Playing CODMW2 on my 42" LG was sweeeet.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 10:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

on my acer with a 9500gs i cant look at both displays at the same time, you have to switch from one to the other, vid card cant power both.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI? impruv Display Units 7 July 25, 2009 02:22 PM
HDMI and no sound Wurmer Troubleshooting 12 July 3, 2009 05:17 PM
The New Honda HDMI 3 of 7 Off Topic 41 April 10, 2009 11:30 PM
HDMI SpateD Display Units 4 March 4, 2008 05:47 PM
ATI with HDMI out ? y eye Video Cards 1 January 3, 2007 06:11 PM