Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 08:19 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,153

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
- gaming is incredible, they really meant it when they said it's like a window to another world, haven't seen any of notorious lag or ghosting, not too many FPS lost either.
Yep...glad you sent it back ...really man..it wasn't / should have even been a consideration...how much for it??..
Dents...smudged pixels...ouch!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 21.452
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14167916
MARK 11: 32.530
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12496075

Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 07:09 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 805

My System Specs

Default



Ok guys, here's an update. I got the replacement monitor, they shipped it to me using overnight service, FedEx lost it for a week, but it finally arrived.

The good part: great panel, no dead pixels, no smudges, no dents!!!

The bad: it appeared to be refurbished or just straight up used with 863 hours behind it! Also the plastic piece that covers cables on stand leg is missing.

So I basically swapped flawed brand new monitor for a great but used one.
I don't really feel like exchanging it again, just wanna ask how bad is 863 hours, do they renew the back light when they refurbish monitors? I hope Dell can send me the missing plastic cover too.
__________________
х58forLife

Last edited by artistpavel; August 7, 2009 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 08:42 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

Driving the 2560x1600 monster is really demanding. One of the reasons why I shy away from the vigor to make glorious the great 30" display of Dell is largely due to the rig needed to bring such a thing to its full potential.

Have you tried HDMI with it? I am curious to know if this monitor allows itself to be driven at 1080p.

Last edited by panzerfan; August 7, 2009 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 10:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,097
Default

ridiculous 800+ hours 3-6 months use
but you still have the warranty
i bought a refurb 27" but i paid 550$ only thing is it had a small scrath in the corner cant even notice it
you should get a discount
i'm gonna go to same seller maybe get lucky n get your old screen for 600
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 01:49 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 805

My System Specs

Default

panzerfan,
I've been afraid this would be the end of gaming for me, but it was not the case. Most games now are made with consoles in mind, so the specs are low, my single gtx 275 was getting 100+ FPS on most games I play @ 1680x1050, now I get about 60, all maxed 8 MSAA and stuff, L4D, COD4, Fallout 3, Stalker, Call of Juarez 2, the only game it won't play is Crysis, (9 fps, and 22 fps in Warhead on enthusiast) but this will change once we get next gen cards.
I don't have HDMI devices to test, Xbox 360 scales fine @ 1080p via VGA.

Though the screen that large requires getting used to, I get disoriented easily in multiplayer, if I don't move the monitor farther from me. It fills peripheral vision, so you only see the center of action if using too close.

zsamz_
I'll post the seller info, once the deal is closed, so I can give the proper business review to fellow hardwarecanuckers, they are small store in Connecticut.
__________________
х58forLife

Last edited by artistpavel; August 8, 2009 at 02:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I got the same thing with my 3007wfp-hc - I had a grouping of 6-7 pixels in a corner that just showed up after months of use. A quick phone call to Dell and I had a new screen sent to me, and I just fired the old one back to them. New one has zero dead pixels and looks lovely.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 04:32 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,633
Default

I would like to know how you found out how many hours it had been used? Service menu?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 05:01 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 805

My System Specs

Default

SKYMTL, I used this guide, just press 3 buttons at the same time:

Accessing the Dell 2707WFP LCD monitor service menu Josh.st
__________________
х58forLife
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2009, 07:31 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,101
Default

wow must be awesome to have some thing so massively beautiful. But its way over my budget for a monitor. So jealous of your $2k price tag monitor.....

So i was wondering the Dell 2408WFP is the build exactly like the 3008WFP except for the size and price tag right

And what do you use your 30-inch for? I remember you saying you were doing some graphic for some company
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 04:34 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,436

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
SKYMTL, I used this guide, just press 3 buttons at the same time:

Accessing the Dell 2707WFP LCD monitor service menu Josh.st
This works with my 22" lcd as well.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spring Has Officially Arrived misterlarry Off Topic 40 May 19, 2009 12:46 PM
my kingston ssd had arrived :))))) go flames go Storage 0 May 4, 2009 06:15 PM
Deltas have arrived at NCIX! death_hawk Air Cooling 14 August 26, 2008 12:03 AM
WooHoo it has arrived Beermaster Cases 32 April 17, 2007 09:26 AM