Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 06:38 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

I've got mine, and I've been calibrating it as well. This display is really sweet!

My current settings are: OPC off, backlight std, contrast +30, brightness 0, color -2, tint -6, sharpness +1, mid-high color temp, no color contrast.

I tried out oblivion on this thing. It's breathtaking.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 07:31 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

hey panzer, how did you connect ur video card to ur tv? I tried VGA out but it gave me a crap res and terrible picture.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 07:38 PM
hightest's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: calgary
Posts: 386
Default

Well i used a dvi/hdmi on my sons and it worked great.It was about $20;00 4 an adapter.

And i also treid the d-sub and had no problums iether.
__________________
Man all this computor stuff is 2 addicting.Even thou i dont need 2 i allways wanna upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 11:21 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

You got to use DVI with that. I tried component and it works, but I find the DVI giving the best possible picture.

This is my setup for now btw. Will move secondary up to 2408wfp soon.


Last edited by panzerfan; August 7, 2009 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 11:07 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

that looks great panzer. Now i just need to get a 25ft HDMI cable and a DVI-HDMI adaptor. Btw, using the DVI - HDMI adaptor, can it transport audio?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 05:11 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

I looked into it, and it depends if your video card has SPDIF output pins on the card. Basically, the spdif signal must be sent from the card to the sound card in order to allow the HDMI to work as it should, as in onboard spdif.

As for the adapter, not all adapters are made equal I think... I can only find out after my video card upgrade on an 8800GT (and I wonder if I need to upgrade sound card even)

Last edited by panzerfan; August 7, 2009 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
samsung 24 lcd problem poots Troubleshooting 4 January 22, 2009 07:06 AM
samsung lcd help johnnyb Troubleshooting 3 November 7, 2008 12:35 AM
FS: Mac Mini G4 / Samsung 204B LCD / Samsung HD960 Upconverting DVD (Faroudja) Thund3rball Buy/Sell & Trade 13 March 7, 2008 09:21 AM