Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default need some help: "upgrade" for free? or not?

Ok, so I bought a monitor from best buy about 3 weeks ago for a great deal. Its a samsung 2693HM and I got it for $375!. Its a nice monitor, and I love the adjustable height stand.

SyncMaster? 2693HM 25.5? 2693HM - LCD - monitors | SAMSUNG

However, since I bought it the power button is incredibly finiky. It works sometimes, and other times, wont work at all. So I called samsung up the other day to get a replacement (its still under warranty for 3 full years). They said sure, and the monitor would be shipped out in a week. I got an email yesterday saying that they are out of stock of my current monitor but they will offer me an "upgrade" This is the model they offered.

26" HDTV widescreen monitor T260HD - LCD - monitors | SAMSUNG

I dont particularly care about the tv tuner, but it is kinda cool. But is this a better monitor? should I do the exchange or just get my monitor repaired?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:38 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

You should get it b/c it wworth more $$$
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 07:55 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

I'd be inclined to go with it as long as your comfortable using HDMI cables on your GPU's.

Hopefully it has an older adapter in case you run into issues installing operating systems or issues with display drivers.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; June 9, 2009 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 08:08 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

How important is a height adjustment to you?

Without doing a lot of research on image quality, that's the most obvious difference between the two, and would more than likely be the deal breaker for me.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 08:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
I'd be inclined to go with it as long as your comfortable using HDMI cables on your GPU's.

Hopefully it has an older VGA in case you run into issues installing operating systems or issues with display drivers.
Why would I need to use HDMI? it has a dvi input

I'm confused as to "installing" display drivers. Those drivers would be for your graphics cards wouldn't they?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 08:33 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Well has long it has DVI inputs, that would be fine. Would you rather wait a long time to get it repaired, or have a screen right away, it's up to you.

So far, the new screen is superior in almost every ways. Only thing, it looks like the brightness isn't as strong as your old one. But for the rest, 5ms response rate on both, 1000:1 white ratio (ignore dynamic ratio). Also, you got more ports, so you can hook up a PS3 or Xbox and play on your monitor at 1080p res.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 08:42 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

T 260 have a better image quality then the first one go with it for sure my friend!!!! or ill take it:)

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 08:55 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Yeah, worst come to worst, just sell the monitor sealed.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Bitspower "bling goodness" D5/655 Mod Kit - BNIB mhw100 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 1, 2009 10:18 PM
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 09:38 AM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM