Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 12:21 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default Monitor Resolution FPS???

Would I see a big fps drop going from a 22 inch monitor@1680x1050 to 25.5 inch monitor@ 1920x1200 using 2 8800 Ultras.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 01:39 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yes, you will see a significant drop, particularly utilizing AA n AF
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 06:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Probably nothing you would notice, I have 3 8800 Ultras and there are very few games where I dip below 60fps with everything maxed out (Crysis, Farcry). So chances are, no you won't. Soon you will as games get more demanding :)


Rj is right though if your fps is currently around 50-60.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 07:38 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

1680x1050 = 1764000 pixels
1920*1080 = 2073600 pixels
2073600/176400 = 1.17

17% less fps with that resolution. 60fps would drop to 51fps.
But if you have vsync on you may not drop at all. You could be making 70+ fps without vsync.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 07:57 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 944
Default

Squeetard (or anyone else who could answer), is it really that linear a of a drop in framerates when resolution is increased or just a good approximation? Just asking because I have no clue about the more in-depth workings between resolution and performance requirements.

Thanks
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 11:28 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

I guess I'll be upgrading video card before I get a new monitor.
Thanks for the info.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 09:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

A little
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 05:09 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

all i know is that on my 9600GT, i experience a big drop in fps from going 17 inch square LCD monitor to 22 inch Widescreen.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 10:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Well if you're hitting over 60fps already he's safe.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution problem with Win7 xXxRithxXx O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 5, 2009 07:24 PM
1650X1080 max resolution, what card? Skyllz Video Cards 6 October 27, 2008 10:35 AM
Resolution of Blu-Ray movies on PC? Mibs HTPC Systems & Software 1 May 24, 2008 02:44 PM
What Resolution Do You Game At? BALISTX Display Units 55 April 7, 2008 09:59 AM
resolution question rob123 Video Cards 3 June 3, 2007 11:39 AM