Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 11:12 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Not too bad actually, but again, it's vram and texture fetch limitations that cause 2560x1600 to tank...the GTX285, for all intents and purposes, is far faster than 4870 1gb Crossfire, but for some reason 2560x1600 is better on ATI cards...

With multi-gpus we run into the issue of limited scaling...cpu just plain doesn't have enough bandwidth, especially Core2(i7 is much better in this regard, for what I consider very obvious reasons), so before we run into exceeding the TF limitations imposed by 2560x1600, with multi-gpus, the cpu FSB/QPI/HT is not "wide" enough to support 2560x1600 yet either. I mean really...if 60FPS requires 20GB/sec of bandwidth JUST for rendered frames(which must be sent to the "primary card to be displayed), the overall bus saturation goes up almost exponetially for every card you add in...two cards makes for 40GB, plus texture data, etc, etc...so it's quite obvious to me why we see limited sclaing on the multi-gpu platforms.

I mean really, PCI-E 1.0 isn't enough for two 3780x2...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 11:29 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

idk about the rest of you but i haven't had any serious issues with my dell yet. Mind you it may be my videocard that's helping out though. 9800 GX2.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 11:34 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
snip

I can say that I will never ever sell my Dell 30-inch...surfing with two webpages open...only works well @ 2560x1600...
Agreed on all counts. Don't be disapointed when you can't crank everything to full in games, but having said that, I wouldn't give up the 2560x1600 resolution for a TV at a much lower resolution.

You'll be happy with a 30" 2560x1600 monitor, just don't expect any miracles when it comes to gaming, unless you spend the money(SLi/CrossFireX).
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 11:37 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Well, I'll admit, it's only a few games out there that don't run well; Crysis(of course), FarCry2, Fallout3, GTA4, WIC, Mirror's Edge, ...basically any DX10 games are a bit slow...I simply will play those games on my HDTV, as I have that option

But, these are new titles. If you cannot play A-grade titles that are out now, there's almost no hope for future ones, and hence my position...it's no good to buy a system and have it become obsolete for your uses within 6 months...after dealing with this for a year, I went and bought a PS3, just for those A-grade titles...


Anyway, i think this here horse I'm riding is dead now, so I'll not beat it any more.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:20 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Well, I'll admit, it's only a few games out there that don't run well; Crysis(of course), FarCry2, Fallout3, GTA4, WIC, Mirror's Edge, ...basically any DX10 games are a bit slow...I simply will play those games on my HDTV, as I have that option

But, these are new titles. If you cannot play A-grade titles that are out now, there's almost no hope for future ones, and hence my position...it's no good to buy a system and have it become obsolete for your uses within 6 months...after dealing with this for a year, I went and bought a PS3, just for those A-grade titles...


Anyway, i think this here horse I'm riding is dead now, so I'll not beat it any more.
Except for Crysis and GTA4, I was able tp play all the games in your list(and more) at the full resolution with everything maxed, and in some cases I was even able to crank the AA. I mean I *WAS* running on CrossFireX 2x4870X2's(4GPU's) on a Q6600 and 8GB of ram but still. Oh god do I ever miss that rig, I wish I never had to sell/part it out *cries*

Hell, even Crysis I was able to play without issue as long as I lowered everything to "Gamer" with 1 or 2 options at "Mainstream" instead of "Enthusiast". Well except textures, I always kept textures on "Enthusiast", I'm always willing to sacrifice a game setting or 2 for good texture quality. I hate when textures look muddy/blurry.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

you're happy with less than 60FPS then. 30FPS is ok for me for driving games, but for FirstPersonShooters, I NEED 60FPS for twitch-aiming.

I played CrysisWarhead @ 1280x1024 on 2900XT...which is a far better than the original crysis...wasn't no 60FPS though...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:36 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
you're happy with less than 60FPS then. 30FPS is ok for me for driving games, but for FirstPersonShooters, I NEED 60FPS for twitch-aiming.

I played CrysisWarhead @ 1280x1024 on 2900XT...which is a far better than the original crysis...wasn't no 60FPS though...
I'm plenty happy with 30FPS, hell I play with vsync on *gasp the horror*, frankly as long as long as the FPS feels smooth and isn't spiky and tearing, I'm happy.

I just don't notice any advantage as long as the framerate is constant and isn't tearing of playing at 60FPS vs 30FPS. I play plenty FPS games, and am one of the better players among my friends, so it has nothing to do with that. I know some people notice the difference(like you it seems), but I don't.

Each to his own.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yeah, I totally understand where you are coming from. I'm very sensitive to light and sound...I can hear the high-pitch whine coming from the tv downstairs when it's on(down a floor and opposite corners from the stairs, I can still tell when my son's down there watching TV, even if the sound is muted. nobody else I know can hear it, even standing next to the TV)...and I cannot see in broad daylight properly without sunglasses. I wish there was something I could do to show how this difference is to me, but like you say, everyone's visual perception varies from one to the next...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 04:07 PM
crispex's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

You can hear that stupid noise??

I thought I was almost alone out there, haha. Besides one friend of mine, I've never met anyone who can hear that stupid noise that TV's make just by being on.

Also:

Quote:
Cadaveca -
But yes, as you say, turning down details can get some extra performance, but that's only because the lower-resolution textures leave more gpu vram bandwidth available....and even then, it's sometimes not enough....I am one of those guys that sees games as a form of art, and like any art, I'd like to experience it as the artists intended...full resolution textures and all. Nothing but the best...unfortunately I'm still awaiting "the best", for my needs.
Poetry.

I'm right there with you on that point; it's my main motivation in building a new computer.

I haven't seen very good graphics or performance out of a computer (in person) for a very long time. All I've had is my trusty lil' D901C, which is, as best as I can judge it, roughly equivalent to a desktop with an 8800GT. I can run the newer games, but that's about it. It was definitely a good investment...

To everyone who has responded, thanks for your input. I never really expected anyone to have the 'perfect' solution to this, but after what you've all said, I think I will just run with this LG and see what happens. Heh, maybe I could run a quick review of it through here, after I use it a bit. That would be fun to try, I think.

__________________
If it ain't rocket powered, it ain't worth it.

Last edited by crispex; March 17, 2009 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 04:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Default

I have a HP 30". I paid a bit of a premium for it (~$1600), but the build quality is supurb. I checked out the LG at FS and was unimpressed with the build quality, especially the stand. My monitor came with one dead pixel, but its not easy to spot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 09:38 AM
Fake "Do Not Call" cell phone registry hits the streets sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 26, 2008 08:21 PM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 10:44 PM