Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 11:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
I don't understand the nonsense about needing a $1000 video card setup to power things on there.
A big part of it, for me, is because I play alot of console games as well as PC games...

So, I have my PS2 and Wii hooked up to a 30-inch sony tube TV. Graphics are crisp, and smooth, and for my eyes, attaining the same visual acuity on pc games requires more than 60FPS as a minimum. To do so @ 2560x1600, requires alot of grunt...a single frame can easily consume 150-200mb...consider 3 buffered frames...and that's almost 500MB right there...nevermind all the shader/texture data.

With all that data, there's a ton of texture fetches needed...and only high-end cards come close to having the TF ability to meet the demands of 60FPS @ 2560x1600...and no single card on the market today, even dual-gpu cards, has the required ability to pull that off.

"Nothing but the best, won't settle for less"...means that that 60FPS is REQUIRED for me, and I won't settle for anything but...which means I'm quite unhappy with my Dell 30-inch...not because of the monitor itself, but more becuase of the system required to push it.

No, you don't need alot of cpu for 2560x1600; 3.6-3.8ghz is perfectly fine(note that bus speed plays a large role here); but to move 500mbx20(for 60FPS) is having to move 20GB of data a second...and that's just rendered frames. This is why the 4870x2 can exceed the GTX280/GTX285 @ 2560x1600...that 115GB of GDDR5 bandwidth pays off.

So, while you may not understand the requirements I boast of, for 2560x1600, there is hard math that goes to prove my point, nevermind the many benchmarks that also confirm it.


But yes, as you say, turning down details can get some extra performance, but that's only because the lower-resolution textures leave more gpu vram bandwidth available....and even then, it's sometimes not enough....I am one of those guys that sees games as a form of art, and like any art, I'd like to experience it as the artists intended...full resolution textures and all. Nothing but the best...unfortunately I'm still awaiting "the best", for my needs.



Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 04:13 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 988

My System Specs

Default

IMO, a 30" is perfect. 2560x1600 with all settings cranked for any games my GTX285 can handle.. and 1280x800 with all settings cranked for anything else.
1:2 scaling works out really well. Here's a thread from when I first got my 30"
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 06:00 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,612
Default

I'm still going to go with the Dell 30 incher due to their pixel policy and (from my experience) excellent customer service.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 06:53 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yeah, Dell's warranty is pretty good, local service is awesome, and I got the warranty that even covers accidental damage. I'm a bit upset that I've had to wait for so long to get vgas that push the monitor decently...but it really looks like getting a third 4870 might be just enough....that's $900. hopefully the next gen of vgas will continue the performance increase, and I might need two...the gen after that, just one, for sure...for everything else, other than gaming, this Dell rocks!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 08:06 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Pfft, get the NEC 30", I own a Dell 30"(which I highly recommend, look out for deals, they go on sale every so often) and still wish I could have the NEC instead!

NEC MultiSync LCD3090WQXi 30in Monitor Review - Display Reviews - TrustedReviews
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 08:10 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Agreed, I'm presently running a Dell 30" with my single GTX280, and it's a little borderline on some newer games. And by the time you've dropped the IQ settings to ensure smooth framerates, you're giving up the quality that the higher resolution gives you, and you may as well just go down to a 27" monitor or a 1080p television that only has half as many pixels to process. I'm going to do a big side-by-side comparison sometime soon, but I'm beginning to suspect that being able to run higher IQ levels is actually making my 32" television look a little better than my 30" monitor.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 08:20 AM
Foo Foo is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

just go get a 1080p 32" tv. I have my 42" LG (1080p, 120hz, 50000:1CR) hooked up to my PC and its awsome to play games on and even looks nice for just browsing the web (text is clear and sharp). Most games dont support 1080p but if i run them at 1680x1050 they work well and still looks amazing.
__________________
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe
Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.40ghz
2 X Diamond 3870's in Crossfire
4 X 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC8500
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 10:10 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Agreed, I'm presently running a Dell 30" with my single GTX280, and it's a little borderline on some newer games. And by the time you've dropped the IQ settings to ensure smooth framerates, you're giving up the quality that the higher resolution gives you, and you may as well just go down to a 27" monitor or a 1080p television that only has half as many pixels to process. I'm going to do a big side-by-side comparison sometime soon, but I'm beginning to suspect that being able to run higher IQ levels is actually making my 32" television look a little better than my 30" monitor.
Yeah I agree with MpG...guys boasting of running games at 2560 x 1600 with everything "cranked" on a single 280 / 285 are certainly not playing at what I consider "smooth n playable" framerates...go ahead and try and convince me, but you won't....I saw N7 posted Benchmarks as well as a million other Benchmarks at this Res and I'm afraid when I start dipping down into the 20's - 30's its time time to replace GPU's. I certainly enjoy having all the eye candy "cranked" and am not into having to "tweak" settings to make something run smoother with high end GPU's under the hood.
I'd stick to a large TV monitor.....as mentioned above, not only cheaper but Framerates will be great.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 10:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

What it all boils down to is that those of us with 30-inch panels, and who game, aren't impressed, so noone is going to have that "God-Like" panel to recommend...there just isn't anything "God-Like" when you get choppy/slow visuals. We aren't about to give you a recommendation that will leave you unhappy; that's not what we are about here.

I'd recommend that if you are truly set on a 30-inch panel, buy the LG one you listed. It has all the same features as my Dell, but better colour...can't go wrong there. The price is fairly decent...just be aware that there will be issues in certain games. Not a big deal as long as you go into this knowing what's what.

I can say that I will never ever sell my Dell 30-inch...surfing with two webpages open...only works well @ 2560x1600...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 11:02 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
What it all boils down to is that those of us with 30-inch panels, and who game, aren't impressed, so noone is going to have that "God-Like" panel to recommend...there just isn't anything "God-Like" when you get choppy/slow visuals. We aren't about to give you a recommendation that will leave you unhappy; that's not what we are about here.
Well said Cadaveca....why push something that may result in unsatisfactory performance. With that said, how is this Res on a Multi GPU config?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 09:38 AM
Fake "Do Not Call" cell phone registry hits the streets sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 26, 2008 08:21 PM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 10:44 PM