Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 02:03 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr View Post
LOL!...welcome aboard fellow idiot! ...I'll be curious to see what your opinion is
Lets put it this way.....ow ow ow ow OW!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously this HURTS my eyes. I may have to just get used to it....or it could be my nearsightness.....I dunno.

However I loved what I DID see....except for the DOUBLE bars and graphs and text over every ones head in UT3 that is.....

This is gonna take some getting used too......
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:43 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Great. Just great.....

So I finally got sick and tired of the tiny cable that Samsung sent with the monitor. I go out and buy 2 DVI to HDMI adapters. I had a spare HDMI cable laying around. Set it up that way.

Works perfectly....until I load up a game....then it hits the fan.

WTF? Why will it not work with a superior cable tech? This makes no sense at all!?!?!?!!?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 05:08 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

As far as I know the cable that is supplied has different wiring inside in order to accommidate the 120htz signal, if you read the manual for the monitor it specifically says other cables will not work. It sucks I know but thats the way it goes sometimes. I'm thinking of calling Samsung to see if there are longer cables available.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 05:28 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,715
Default

As I mentioned in my review, a HDMI cable DOES NOT have the bandwidth necessary to carry a 120Hz signal. You will have to wait for HDMI 1.3 for that.

IMO, HDMI is not superior to DVI. Not by a long shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] PSP entertainment bundle BrianHanna Buy/Sell & Trade 9 January 14, 2009 03:46 PM
[FS] Watercooling Bundle Infiniti Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 10, 2008 04:57 PM
Best Free Antivirus Bundle? Infiniti O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 August 8, 2008 03:36 PM